Databases
Best Bets for Earth Environment and Society
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
A database of almost 80 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Covers worldwide literature on physical and human geography, geology, ecology and related disciplines. Contains references to over 1.1 million journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, etc. from over 2,065 journals and other sources. Includes abstracts.Subject areas covered include: cartography, climatology, energy, environment, geochemistry, geomorphology, geophysics, hydrology, meteorology, paleontology, petrology, photogrammetry, sedimentology, and volcanology.
Searchable, bibliographic database of geologic field trip guidebooks of North America (United States, Canada, Mexico). Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-the present.
Covers worldwide literature in geology and earth sciences. Contains references to over 2.3 million journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses from over 25,150 sources. Includes abstracts. Subject areas covered include: crystallography, economic geology, environmental geology, engineering geology, geochemistry, geophysics, hydrogeology, hydrology, marine geology, mineralogy, oceanography, and paleontology.
Comprising more than 45,000 records of publications released by CCRS (Canada Centre for Remote Sensing) or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) authors ... is now the repository for all Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) bibliographic information.
A searchable database to journals published by geological societies. Our subscription includes access to 36 fulltext titles, with key titles from the GSA, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Association of Canada, and more.
A global listing of over 1 million names representing approximately 900,000 places and geographic features of the modern world. Maintained by the Getty Information Institute. Organized hierarchically from continents at the broadest level, to nations, states, regions and cities at narrower levels. Provides latitude/longitude, vernacular and English names, and source of information. Historical names and notes are provided for most major inhabited places.
A free research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 600 titles, and fulltext for more than 4,700 items from open access sources.
