Best Bets for Earth Environment and Society
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
NOTE: PTTC Tech Place articles are not included with McMaster's subscription.
Full text access to papers from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and over 40 regional publishers. Major publications that can be retrieved from the database include the AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Journal of Petroleum Geology, and Journal of Sedimentary Research, with coverage from 1917 onwards.
A multi-disciplinary database that covers millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including podcasts, transcripts and videos.
Academic Video Online provides nearly 80,000 titles spanning subjects from anthropology to zoology. Curated for curricular relevance, this streaming video database includes feature films, documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and demonstrations.
Browse by Channels to see what's available by subject or source, or search by title.
This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, and the European Journal of Mineralogy.
First-ime user? Access requires an Esri ArcGIS account. To request an account, current McMaster students, faculty and staff should fill in this ArcGIS Software Request form or contact contact firstname.lastname@example.org. Once your account is approved, sign in to these products with the ArcGIS login (not Your ArcGIS organization's URL).
Provides location-based analysis that can be used for market planning, site selection, customer targeting and other decisions. Use web-based GIS (Geographic Information System) mapping technology to visualize demographic, lifestyle, behavioural, psychographic (e.g., PRIZM, Tapestry Segmentation) spending and business data for over 130 countries (including Canada). Data is derived from a variety of sources (e.g. Esri, Environics, Infogroup, Michael Bauer Research) and will vary for each country. Adding or importing your own data is supported. Maps, charts, infographics and reports can be created and saved for any area.
Includes journals, e-books, and standards across all disciplines of civil engineering: Aerospace, Architectural, Coastal and Ocean, Computing in Civil Engineering, Construction, Energy, Engineering Mechanics, Environmental, Geotechnical, Hydraulic, Infrastructure, Materials, Management, Professional Issues, Structural, Transportation, Urban Planning, Water Resources.
Contains 84,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. Covers all subjects and contains two types of information: citations to publications and descriptions of research projects. Most of the citations in the database are to publications produced since 1978. Research projects are included from 1974. ASTIS is a project of the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary.