Databases
Best Bets for Social Work
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
Academic Video Online provides nearly 80,000 titles spanning subjects from anthropology to zoology. Curated for curricular relevance, this streaming video database includes feature films, documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and demonstrations.
Browse by Channels to see what's available by subject or source, or search by title.
Contains over 115,274 citations, with abstracts, to the literature on social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health; also includes selected consumer content.
First-ime user? Access requires an Esri ArcGIS account. To request an account, current McMaster students, faculty and staff should fill in this ArcGIS Software Request form or contact contact libgis@mcmaster.ca. Once your account is approved, sign in to these products with the ArcGIS login (not Your ArcGIS organization's URL).
Provides location-based analysis that can be used for market planning, site selection, customer targeting and other decisions. Use web-based GIS (Geographic Information System) mapping technology to visualize demographic, lifestyle, behavioural, psychographic (e.g., PRIZM, Tapestry Segmentation) spending and business data for over 130 countries (including Canada). Data is derived from a variety of sources (e.g. Esri, Environics, Infogroup, Michael Bauer Research) and will vary for each country. Adding or importing your own data is supported. Maps, charts, infographics and reports can be created and saved for any area.
An indexing and abstracting tool covering the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
