Databases

Includes over 200 engineering reference sources, with the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.

Offers a new approach to hematology-oncology reference and research. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online HemOnc resource covers the entire spectrum of hematology-oncology from the basics to specialty-specific content – optimized for viewing on any device. AccessHemOnc can assist fellows and residents in strengthening their skills with instant access to multimedia and leading textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning, and allow practicing physicians to reinforce their medical knowledge for re-certification.

Collection of online textbooks covering basic and clinical sciences. Repository contains the latest editions of selected medical titles. Includes image and audio files, drug database, differential diagnosis, laboratory tests, guidelines and patient handouts.

Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content. Contains landmark neurology references including Principles of Neural Science. Also contains a multimedia library featuring an interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas as well as videos on neurologic examinations and EEG monitoring, Other online learning tools include case and self-assessment reviews, a drug database, and a 3-D brain anatomy tool.

An integrated online resource that provides medical students, pediatric residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive online pediatric resource provides instant access to information essential for completing evaluation, diagnosis, and case management decisions.

Online resource for physical therapy students, educators, and practicing professionals. Features content and images from leading McGraw-Hill textbooks; drug database; curricular tools; review questions and answers; and multimedia study aids, including an interactive program entitled: Anatomy & Physiology Revealed.

Includes nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Most of the scripts have never been published before, and are not otherwise available online.

The rationale behind the database is not only to provide access to many previously unpublished screenplays, but to allow scripts to become part of the established corpus of literary works. Legal, authoritative versions of these screenplays will, the producers hope, be consulted by a wide range of scholars, including historians, sociologists, and those who study literature.

Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

Enfer ("Hell") from the Bibliothèque nationale de France is one of the most storied and sought-after private case collections of forbidden books. The collection was created in the 1830s to protect and isolate works that were considered contrary to the morals of the time. The entire collection was kept in a locked section of the library, accessible only by application to the Director-General of the Bibliothèque and approval by an advisory committee of curators before it was made availabe online. Enfer is made up of more than 2,400 literary works, manuscripts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs. The books in Enfer span from the 1530s to the 2010s, providing a wide perspective throughout time and in different societies on what were considered to be erotic and/or pornographic works. The documents are mainly in French, with some titles also in English, German, Spanish, and a smattering of other languages. Many of the books are beautifully bound and wonderfully illustrated.

A newly added section, International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, presents material from regions and populations that are not generally encountered in gender and sexuality studies, specifically southern Africa and Australia. The database as a whole brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Documents are sourced from over 35 countries, and include extensive material from the Canadian Gay and Lesbian Archives.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century is made up of more than five thousand rare and unique books covering sex, sexuality, and gender issues across the sciences and humanities and throughout history. It is the variety of titles and subjects in this archive that make the research opportunities intriguing. Through its many monographs, the collection offers researchers a fascinating collection of historical material providing multiple perspectives on the study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The archive presents content in fourteen different languages, with a predominance in French, English, and German and including Old French, Old English, and Old High German.

The ARTFL Project is a full-text database consisting of over 2700 French language texts from the 13th to the 20th centuries including texts in literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences. The database includes texts by French women writers, Provençal poetry, Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie, French dictionaries from the 17th - 20th centuries, and Bayle's monumental Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th edition, 1740).

Includes journals, e-books, and standards across all disciplines of civil engineering: Aerospace, Architectural, Coastal and Ocean, Computing in Civil Engineering, Construction, Energy, Engineering Mechanics, Environmental, Geotechnical, Hydraulic, Infrastructure, Materials, Management, Professional Issues, Structural, Transportation, Urban Planning, Water Resources.

This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

The ASME Digital Collection is ASME’s authoritative, online reference for the mechanical engineering and related research communities. Includes topical collections on Automotive Systems, Biomedical Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Renewable Energy and more.

• ASME’s Journals from 1960 – present
• ASME’s Conference Proceedings from 2000 – present, plus select proceedings back to 1955
• ASME eBooks selected from 1993 – present
• ASME Standards.  Select "Standards" and then "click here to access via institutional account" in upper right of screen.

Includes all Active standards from the 80+ volume Annual Book of ASTM Standards. Content is updated as standards are released.  The Engineering Digital Library provides access to Standard Technical Papers and Symposia papers, e-books, manuals, 6 journals, and a terminology dictionary.   

McMaster's subscription does not include the historical standards, or additional standards - e.g., UOP - which may be referenced but are not immediately available online.