Databases

Provides archival runs of leading women’s consumer magazines dating from the late 19th through to the 21st century, documenting evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Includes titles such as Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping and Seventeen. All content, including advertisements, is fully searchable. 

Includes high-resolution images of the pages, articles, advertisements, and covers of Women's Wear Daily, along  with searchable text and indexing. This trade publication is one of the fashion industry's most influential reads covering key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers. Subject coverage includes retail business, fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, marketing and advertising.

Digitized from originals held by McMaster University Library's Research Collections.  This collection contains uncatalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle.  The pamphlets are global in scope, although they are all in English unless otherwise noted.  The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.

Provides three collections of nineteenth and early twentieth-century  newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and Southeast Asia.  This primary sources collection facilitates the study of regional history, including colonialization.

Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 120 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. 

WorldCat is the world's largest library catalogue, merging the holdings of over 72,000 institutions worldwide. Includes records for books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. McMaster's holdings will be listed first. Items not in our library can be requested via Interlibrary Loans.

Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Includes the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, 1984-2000. Many records from key journals in political science, published since 2000, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. All records added since 2000 are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms.

Includes nine periodicals spanning 1940-2020, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture like fashion, rock and roll, sexuality and dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. At completion, this collection will have 200,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada. Most of the periodicals within the collection are difficult to find and no longer published, such as Clarity Magazine from the 1940s and Petticoat from the 1960s, providing insight to the various content that influenced youth culture throughout the decades.

Zoological Record is a discipline specific database for finding the core journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and reports in the field of zoology. Published since 1864, it also provides a taxonomic reference for animal species.