Databases

Contains information about almost 2 million physical features and populated places in the United States. The database is maintained by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) in cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographical Names. A search will return feature type, elevation, estimated population, county and latitude/longitude. Can delimit search by feature type, population range, elevation or map name. Can display location on a national map, and also identify the local watershed. Includes links to other name sources for foreign (non-US) countries and Antarctica.

UCAS is the UK central organisation through which applications are processed for entry to full-time first degrees, HNDs and university diplomas. The mission of UCAS is to promote a partnership between prospective students and universities and colleges

Contains bibliographic descriptions and ordering information for approximately 300,000 periodicals (also known as serials) including scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Information includes:

• publisher, country of publication, format, whether active or ceased, start year, frequency
• document type, e.g., academic/scholarly, consumer magazine, etc.
• whether refereed/peer reviewed
• abstracting & indexing coverage
• full-text database coverage
• reviews

A comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. Topics include: Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, Women and Gender Issues.