Databases

The Listener was a weekly magazine running 1929-1991. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks--initially on radio, but in later years television as well--the Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books. Over its 62-year history, The Listener attracted the contributions of literary icons such as E. M. Forster, George Orwell, Bertrand Russell, George Bernard Shaw, and Virginia Woolf. It also provided an important platform for new writers and poets, with W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath, and Philip Larkin being notable examples. The complete archive of this landmark publication is an essential witness to the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century, and also to the golden years of radio and television.

Contains more than 250 plays and over 100 video documentaries available online in streaming video. Authors include include Aeschylus, Anderson, Chekov, Cocteau, Garcia Lorca, Genet, Jarry, Moliere, Racine, Shakespeare, Shaw, Sheridan, Voltaire, and more, in productions from the 1930's to the present.

Our subscription provides 8 concurrent users for video streams. When a user starts streaming a video the system takes away one video stream slot from the pool. If the user pauses or stops playing the video the steaming slot is returned to the general pool for other users.

Contains 2,059 plays by 434 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.