Databases
Best Bets for History
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
A gateway to research tools for studying texts. TAPoR is a place for Humanities scholars, students and others interested in applying digital tools to their textual research to find the tools they need, contribute their experience and share new tools they have developed or used with others.
This primary sources collection from the Wiener Library in London offers searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, small publications and rare serials reflecting Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, life in the concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life. Items are arranged in five categories: over 1,500 eyewitness accounts, about 4,000 photographs, over 400 Nazi propaganda materials (many of which are very rare), various Wiener Library publications from the 1930s to the 1960s, and the library's biographical index cards.
The Listener was a weekly magazine running 1929-1991. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks--initially on radio, but in later years television as well--the Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books. Over its 62-year history, The Listener attracted the contributions of literary icons such as E. M. Forster, George Orwell, Bertrand Russell, George Bernard Shaw, and Virginia Woolf. It also provided an important platform for new writers and poets, with W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath, and Philip Larkin being notable examples. The complete archive of this landmark publication is an essential witness to the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century, and also to the golden years of radio and television.
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text of cover-to cover issues of the Times of London including illustrations, birth notices, obituaries, classifieds, editorials, book reviews, and more.
The most current issues of The Times are available online (plain-text) via Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases.
The most current issues of the Sunday Times are available online (plain-text) via Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases.
The most current issues of The Times Literary Supplement are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and other databases.
This archive provides access to over 4,300 issues of The Times Educational Supplement, a leading publication on education policy and pedagogy in the UK and beyond. Spanning 1910 to 2000, the collection supports research in education, social history, women's studies, public health, literature, and the arts. It offers valuable insights into the evolution of teaching, school reform, and public discourse on education throughout the 20th century.
More current issues of The Times Literary Supplement until 2021 are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni.
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during World War One. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover, in full colour or greyscale, and with granular indexing of all articles and specialist indexing of Publications.
