Databases

Provides "bird's-eye" views of nineteenth and early twentieth century cities and towns across the United States and Canada. Each map contains a detailed look at architecture and urban planning of the period, and allows users to zoom in on particular areas.

This unique group of 4,700 photographs records a broad range of artists working in the United States during the first three quarters of the twentieth century. Created by the fine art photography firm Peter A. Juley & Son (active 1896-1975). Highlights of the collection include portraits of Thomas Hart Benton, Selma Burke, Alexander Calder, Edward Hopper, Frida Kahlo, Yasuo Kuniyoshi, Jacob Lawrence, Barnett Newman, Diego Rivera and Augustus Saint-Gaudens. Many of the images show artists in their studios or at home with their families and offer interesting glimpses into the artistic and social climate in which they worked. The collection also contains hundreds of group photographs documenting activities at the National Academy of Design and Art Students League in New York City as well as the summer art colonies at Provincetown, Old Lyme, Woodstock, and Ogunquit.

From music and youth culture to politics and fashion, the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. This primary source database traces the development from 1950s austerity to the excess of the 1970s through a range of printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video footage including:

• Pamphlets, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period.
• The renowned Social Protest Collection from University of California, Berkeley.
• Underground magazines including OZ and IT; as well as American fanzines and alternative press titles from Bowling Green State University.
• Thousands of indexed photographs depicting the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.
• Ephemera and memorabilia – posters, pins and artefacts.
• A collection of carefully selected video footage that brings the sights and sounds of the period to life.