Databases

A cooperative catalogue of the film and video collections of Ontario university libraries. Faculty may request the loan of films for classroom use. The Interfilm Policy requires that McMaster place an order with other institutions at least 10 working days before the show date. Typical loan periods are for 2-3 days only.

Contains health care information for patients and consumers.

Contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.

An information resource for peptidases (also termed proteases, proteinases and proteolytic enzymes) and the proteins that inhibit them.

IBM's evidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. The interface allows users to search by drug, disease, or toxicology. Patient education information such as drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug comparison, and calculators are also available, in addition to the “Ask Watson” feature which allows users to search by asking natural language questions. Micromedex includes: AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX, Alternative Medicine, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer, DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, DRUGDEX System, Imprint Codes in Identidex, Index Nominum, Interaction Checking, IV Compatibility, Lab Advisor, P&T QUIK Reports, POISINDEX System, RED BOOK Online, TOMES System, CareNotes, NeoFax, and Pediatrics.

A growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and an archive of materials from brain science conferences. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work. New materials are added on a regular basis, and these additions are announced in the CogNet News service.

Provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. It serves as a resource for scholars seeking outlets to publish their work, providing information on topics covered, editorial policies, contact information, and submission guidelines.  Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

Online collection of recorded sound, including folk, popular, classical and world music, speeches, and oral histories, delivered via streaming audio.

Browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or topic, e.g. American folk traditions, blues, bluegrass and old-time country, American Indian traditions, world traditions (by continent), jazz, classical, spoken word, sound effects.

Historical content includes: ballads from the American Revolution, War of 1812, or the American Civil War; freedom and protest songs from the Civil Rights era; songs from the Slave Coast; Canada's history in song. Spoken word content includes: speeches, biography, memoir, drama (e.g. ancient Greek tragedies), poetry, language instruction.