Databases

This primary source database chronicles human migration in the latter half of the 20th-century. News and analysis comes from reports gathered daily between the early 1940s and 1996 by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA.  These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts (transcripts), newspapers, periodicals and government documents.

Primary source database featuring fully searchable articles, advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and photographs from South African newspaper the Rand Daily Mail. Known today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall, its archives provide insight into events related to South Africa’s struggle for freedom and democracy.

Provides original materials on the political, social, and cultural history of Native Peoples from the 16th century well into the 20th century, including rare books and monographs, periodicals, newspapers, manuscripts, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photos, and videos from the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Major contributors include the University of Alberta, U.S. National Archives, Library of Congress, Princeton University, Moravian Archives, and Gonzaga University.  Titles in this database are also listed in the library catalogue.

For over the past 200 years, the burning of fossil fuels, such as coal and oil, and deforestation, have caused the concentrations of heat-trapping "greenhouse gases" to increase significantly in our atmosphere. This collection documents the U.S. response to the threat posed by climatic change and global warming. The research behind the studies, reports, and analyses represents an exhaustive review of the facts, causes, and economic and political implications of a phenomenon that threatens every region of the world.

Showcases popular and lesser-known periodicals published during the interwar period. With articles covering culture, entertainment, fashion, home and family life, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues, these historically significant and highly visual magazines provide a rich insight into these dynamic yet turbulent decades, as well as allowing examination of a burgeoning media industry that both shaped and reflected society.