Databases

Search across Gale's primary source databases, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), with links to additional content from ProQuest's Early English Books (EEBO).  Individual databases can also be explored separately or in combination.

A database of almost 80 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Explore primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women’s rights, from the nineteenth century to the present.

Sourced from the U.S., U.K., Canada, and Australia, the database provides materials for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement. Other key areas represented in the material include: employment and labour, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. Explore records from men’s and women’s organisations and pressure groups, detailing twentieth-century lobbying and activism on a wide array of issues to reveal developing gender relations and prevalent challenges.

A cross-cultural database for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million full-page images. Trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements.

Note: Access ends December 31, 2024. Global Commodities provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.

The fifteen commodities explored in this resource are: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits. The collection offers information on subjects such as:

Includes coverage of 180 issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present that are key to understanding today’s world including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in Asia Pacific.

Online full-page newspaper archive of The Globe & Mail from May 1844, current 4 years embargoed. Coverage includes all the stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from Canada's national newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era.

The most current issues of The Globe & Mail are available in print and online (plain-text) via Factiva and other databases.

The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects. The digital archive makes available a wealth of editorial content and photography, providing essential insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.

Originally published as Istoriia Velikoi Otechestvennoi Voiny Sovetskogo Soiuza (История Великой Отечественной войны Советского Союза) 1941-1945, published in Moscow in 1960 in six volumes by the USSR Ministry of Defense. This work was translated by the U.S. Army Center of Military History and the Foreign Technology Division, Air Force Systems Command. The complete official Soviet history of World War II, a monumental work of over 9,000 pages, this collection provides Western scholars with an opportunity to study what is considered one of the most significant historical documents produced in the Soviet Union. In addition to its importance in the war's historiography, this work is a valuable exposition of the development of a widely influential military doctrine.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister newspaper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.

The most current issues of The Gluardian are available online (plain-text) via  Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases 

The most current issues of The Observer are available online (plain-text) via  Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases