38 databases found starting with E X
Provides detailed information on thousands of reagents and catalysts used in organic synthesis. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, along with new "designer" reagents and catalysts. Designed and developed by chemists for chemists to help find the most suitable reagent for performing particular chemical reactions. Updated regularly.
An international online open access repository for academic papers in Library and Information Science (LIS).
Contains nearly 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. Collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
EEBO contains page images of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions.
The Text Creation Partnership, which provides highly searchable versions of the texts, made the first 25,000 works freely available in 2015. This interface, at the University of Michigan, allows proximity and boolean searching within the available works, but does not search the full EEBO database.
Over 200 complete works in fictional prose from the period 1500-1700.
Provides access to works printed in Europe before 1701, bringing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. Full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe are included. McMaster has access to Collection 3, 5, 6, 10 and 12 of Early European Books.
Includes primary source documents that trace the history of the East India Company which, at its peak, controlled over a quarter of the world's trade. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this collection charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.
Topics covered include:
- Administrative and ecclesiastical appointments
- Charters and the Company’s relationship to the English/British Crown
- Courts and legal affairs, including legislation
- Diplomacy, treaties and ambassadorial expeditions
- Finance and debt
- The machinery of government
- Pay and pensions for Company servants and their families
- Early voyages to Japan and the Spice Islands (Indonesia)
- Warfare and military matters
This collection is a key resource for scholarship of British imperial history, maritime trade, global commerce, and the history of the first great multinational corporation.
Cross-search over 30 indexing, abstracting, and fulltext databases in a range of subjects.
A wide selection of academic full-text e-books from top publishers and presses. Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue.
EconLit is a comprehensive indexed bibliography of the world's economic literature.
For over 170 years, The Economist has published timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. It covers the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Included in the archive are full-colour images, covers, advertisements, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue from 1843 to 2020.
The most current issues of The Economist are available in print and online via several databases.
Provides original German documents from the London School of Economics and Political Science collection, including:
- Statistics of the Third Reich analysed, 1933-1944
- Monatliche Nachweise über den auswärtigen Handel Deutschlands (January 1933-June 1939)
- Der Aussenhandel Deutschlands Monatliche Nachweise (July 1939); and
- Sondernachweis der Aussenhandel Deutschlands (August 1939-1944).
These publications illustrate a number of major topics, including: the importance of German trade with Eastern Europe; effect of new trade treaties with Southeastern European states concluded in 1934 and 1935; Germany's economic offensive beginning in1934; growth of a "command economy" and the requirements of the Rearmament Program; balance of payments problem; and the defeat of "the traditionalists" with the dismissal of Schacht and Neurath and the appointment of Ribbentrop. Sondernachweis der Aussenhandel Deutschlands is particularly important as it provides a thorough breakdown of German foreign trade by commodity, volume and value on a monthly basis. The December issue of each year gives a final listing of annual figures.
Provides searchable online access to the Journals published by the Electrochemical Society.
ECCO provides online access to every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Content consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera, and more.
McMaster has purchased both ECCO and the update, ECCO II, giving us access to over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes). Subject coverage includes history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science.
Brings together rare journals printed between c1680 and 1816, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Includes 96 complete works in English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles. Includes a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, and two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
Covers the political, policy, business and economic outlook for nearly 200 countries and 26 sectors across six major industries, focusing on dynamics that could impact an organization.
Biomedical and pharmacological database with coverage that encompasses more European and international content than MEDLINE. It contains more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
Covers all nursing specialities and nursing healthcare professions. Includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, pyschiatry and mental health, traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
This primary sources database provides images of original documents related to the British Empire. The content is structured around five thematic sections: Cultural Contacts; Literature; The Visual Empire; Religion; and Race, Class, Colonialism and Imperialism.
Publihsed by Nature Publishing Group and Institute of Physics Publishing, this resource covers the entire field of astronomy and astrophysics, and this online version includes the full text of over 2,750 articles, plus sophisticated search and retrieval functionality and links to the primary literature. The Encyclopaedia's authority is assured by editorial and advisory boards drawn from the world's foremost astronomers and astrophysicists.
Online version of Colin Larkin's 10-volume The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th Edition. Contains 30,000 entries. Features a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, and growing genres including modern R&B, alternative, country, lo-fi, punk, metal and hip hop. Additional entries cover trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Updated three to four times a year with new and revised articles.
EndNote is a citation management tool that moves you through the research process as you search, organize, write, publish, and share your work.
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates. Energy Citations includes bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Contains video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes such as Apollo 13, Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, Deepwater Horizon oil spill, Ford Pinto, Space Shuttle Challenger and the Titantic.
A gateway to several scientific, applied science, technical and engineering-related databases, collections, and services, chiefly Compendex and Inspec. Updated weekly.
Lists over 480,000 items published between 1473 and 1800 mainly in Britain and North America mainly, but not exclusively, in English from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Also see Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) for full-text.
Provides access to handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering, published by CRC Press and Routledge. Includes charts, figures, illustrations and data. Much of the content dates from 2018, although there are a few newer sources.
Contains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theatre are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews. Subject coverage includes the film industry, music business, rock and pop, jazz and blues, theatre, television, and radio. McMaster has access to the Cinema, Film and Televsion collection (Parts 1 & 2) and the Music, Radio and Stage collection.