Databases

An international online open access repository for academic papers in Library and Information Science (LIS).

Cross-search over 30 indexing, abstracting, and fulltext databases in a range of subjects.

EconLit is a comprehensive indexed bibliography of the world's economic literature.

For over 170 years, The Economist has published timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. It covers the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Included in the archive are full-colour images, covers, advertisements, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue from 1843 to 2020.

The most current issues of The Economist are available in print and online via several databases. 

Provides searchable online access to the Journals published by the Electrochemical Society.

Brings together rare journals printed between c1680 and 1816, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.

Covers the political, policy, business and economic outlook for nearly 200 countries and 26 sectors across six major industries, focusing on dynamics that could impact an organization.

Biomedical and pharmacological database with coverage that encompasses more European and international content than MEDLINE. It contains more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.

Covers all nursing specialities and nursing healthcare professions. Includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, pyschiatry and mental health, traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.

Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates. Energy Citations includes bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.

A gateway to several scientific, applied science, technical and engineering-related databases, collections, and services, chiefly Compendex and Inspec. Updated weekly.

Contains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theatre are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews. Subject coverage includes the film industry, music business, rock and pop, jazz and blues, theatre, television, and radio. McMaster has access to the Cinema, Film and Televsion collection (Parts 1 & 2) and the Music, Radio and Stage collection.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC indexes educational-related literature that includes journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

A growing collection of Canadian peer-reviewed journals, primarily published in Quebec. Many journals publish in French, or bilingual French/English articles.

EUROfusion scientific and technical preprints, reports and conference papers are freely accessable. Includes the JET Archive, 1984-2014.

Contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. The new unified database with about 85,500 titles has been developed by the Berlin State Library in cooperation with the Maison des Sciences de l´Homme, Paris. For the years 1975-1990 EBSEES is available in printed form only. Work on adding records to EBSEES ended in 2007, and no further editing will take place after December 2007. The end date for each country’s contribution varies.