Databases

A database of almost 80 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Contains sequence and map data from the whole genomes of over 1000 organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress. All three main domains of life (bacteria, archaea, and eukaryota) are represented, as well as many viruses, phages, viroids, plasmids, and organelles.

Searchable, bibliographic database of geologic field trip guidebooks of North America (United States, Canada, Mexico). Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-the present.

A global listing of over 1 million names representing approximately 900,000 places and geographic features of the modern world. Maintained by the Getty Information Institute. Organized hierarchically from continents at the broadest level, to nations, states, regions and cities at narrower levels. Provides latitude/longitude, vernacular and English names, and source of information. Historical names and notes are provided for most major inhabited places.

Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 28,000 outbreaks, 39,000+ graphs, and 100,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.

The Gnomon Bibliographic Database (GBD) contains bibliographic data on the journal articles, monographs, book chapters, conference papers and other materials appearing in Gnomon, the German review journal covering classical antiquity. One of GBD's main features is its thesaurus of names, places, themes, and other terms associated with the ancient world. This thesaurus is organized hierarchically, with major entries for philosophy, epigraphy, topography, history, and more. Available in German or English.

Also available as a supplement to GBD is Gnomon Online - The Eichstätt Information System for Classical Studies. Available in German, French or English.

The U.S. GPO (Government Printing Office) Monthly Catalog of Publications consists of references to 507,000+ publications that deal with all subjects of interest to the U.S. government. Covers all types of U.S. government publications, including: Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records.

Grove Art Online contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study. There are ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.

Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.