Databases
EEBO contains page images of almost every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions.
The Text Creation Partnership, which provides highly searchable versions of the texts, made the first 25,000 works freely available in 2015. This interface, at the University of Michigan, allows proximity and boolean searching within the available works, but does not search the full EEBO database.
Over 200 complete works in fictional prose from the period 1500-1700.
Provides access to works printed in Europe before 1701, bringing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. Full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe are included. McMaster has access to Collection 3, 5, 6, 10 and 12 of Early European Books.
Cross-search over 30 indexing, abstracting, and fulltext databases in a range of subjects.
A wide selection of academic full-text e-books from top publishers and presses. Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue.
The eCampusOntario provides educators and learners with access to more than 1,600 free and openly-licensed educational resources. The library was launched in 2017 in partnership with BCcampus. Thanks to the Open Publishing Infrastructure Project, a joint effort between eCampusOntario, and Toronto Metropotitan University, the library is now integrated with publishing infrastructure, allowing for the easy creation or adaption of OER. eCampusOntario has also supported enhancements to the PressbooksEDU platform, including the integration of H5P interactive content, version tracking, and cloning support.
ECCO provides online access to every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Content consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera, and more.
McMaster has purchased both ECCO and the update, ECCO II, giving us access to over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes). Subject coverage includes history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science.
Includes 96 complete works in English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles. Includes a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, and two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
Online version of Colin Larkin's 10-volume The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th Edition. Contains 30,000 entries. Features a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, and growing genres including modern R&B, alternative, country, lo-fi, punk, metal and hip hop. Additional entries cover trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Updated three to four times a year with new and revised articles.
Provides access to handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering, published by CRC Press and Routledge. Includes charts, figures, illustrations and data. Much of the content dates from 2018, although there are a few newer sources.
