Databases

BASE is a search engine for academic web resources. It povides more than 165 million documents from more than 8,000 sources. About 60% of the indexed documents can be accessed in full text for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library in Germany.

Contains clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Examinations) clinical reasoning modules. Includes current equipment, techniques, and ways to foster effective clinician-based patient interaction.

Designed and built for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence systematic reviews bringing together the best current evidence with expert guidance.

A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the newspaper Chicago Defender.

Explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.  At completion, the database will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images. It  is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues such as border identities, border enforcement and control, border disputes; border criminologies; maritime borders; human trafficking; sea migration; undocumented and unauthorized migration; and global governance of migration.

Supplied by the British Film Institute and Imperial War Museums, this video resource showcases a large collection of newsreels (6,000+) produced by the Topical Film Company. These silent films, which reached a weekly audience of up to five million, offer insights into British life, culture and society with subjects ranging from the First World War, the Royal Family, the Suffragette Movement, and domestic and international politics through to sport, leisure and fashion.