Alternative Title: Bloomsbury Drama Online
Allowable Uses:
Access is available on and off campus to current McMaster University students, faculty and staff.
Description:
Drama Online is an award-winning digital library that has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It combines exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations and audio plays.
McMaster offers access to:
- Critical Studies and Performance Practice: features nearly 500 academic books from the prestigious Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare imprints, offering invaluable critical, contextual and pedagogic content from leading voices in theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies. The titles in this collection are grouped under two broad areas: Context and Criticism and Theatre Craft. The collection also includes 60 actor training videos through Physical Actor Training - an online A-Z.
- Playwrights Canada Press: offers playtexts of over 230 plays from notable and award-winning authors including Daniel MacIvor and Hannah Moscovitch; features works by First Nations playwrights and diverse playwrights, plays with large casts, monologues, classic Canadian plays and contemporary Canadian plays.
- Shakespeare's Globe On Screen 1 & 2: Globe on Screen 1&2, available from Drama Online, includes a selection of critically acclaimed performances at Shakespeare’s Globe, founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker. Dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare’s work and the theatre for which he wrote, Globe on Screen video collection contains 30 stunning stage productions representing over 75 hours of content. Recorded live on the Globe stage in high definition and surround sound, the videos feature performances from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier award-winning role as Falstaff in Henry IV.
- Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection: Located in Stratford, Ontario, Canada, the Stratford Festival is the largest classical repertory theatre company in North America. Each season, they present a dozen or more productions in different venues. This collection now offers 14 filmed performances.
