Tell us what you think..


Browse:






Add New Suggestion

Add New Suggestion

Other Suggestions for all Libraries

(Apr 19/22) Heyo! Since theres a sewing machine in the Thode makerspace, I think it could be cool to also have an embroidery machine! :)

Library response: Great idea! I will pass this along to our new Makerspace Coordinator. (Apr 19/22)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Thode  |  Permalink

(Apr 22/19) This library has wonderful study space, but its absolutely disgusting. Ive arrived, first thing in the morning (8:00, when it opens) and I had to visit the ladies washroom in the lower level. I havent been here in two or three days, but the washroom looks exactly the same as it did when I was last here - disgusting. Theres toilet paper in only one stall, but its all over the floor in every other stall (covered in feces). There is absolutely no paper towel to be found and the tiniest amount of soap in only one dispenser. Theres also barely any light, and this feels like it might be to cover up how disgusting the facilities are. If I didnt have to go so badly, I would have trekked over to the IAHS building to use their washrooms. The cleanliness isnt only in the washrooms, but obviously this is the most concerning. In the silent study area, there is garbage and dirt all over the desks. I understand that its exam time and the library is used more often, but wouldnt that warrant more cleaning? As I said - its 8:00 am on a Monday, which means that nobody has been here to make the mess since Saturday.

Library response: Good morning. I've just taken a peek myself and I agree, something needs to be done. Over the past several weeks, the Library has been working closely with housekeeping services to find solutions to our cleaning issues. The Library is a large, busy space, making it difficult to keep it clean. It seems that over the long weekend our space may have been overlooked altogether. I have contacted the managers responsible for cleaning and asked them to address the issue immediately. Thank you for taking the time share your concerns. (Apr 22/19)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Mar 19/19) It would be helpful if the upcoming events were more visible on the library website.

Library response: Thank you for submitting this suggestion. It as been forwarded on to the group responsible for the rework of the library's website. They are looking at all the feedback which has been received to make tweaks to the website moving forward. (Mar 21/19)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Jan 29/19) Thode and HSL are probably the best two libraries on campus. Thode because it services science and engineering students, who make up the majority of the population, and HSL because of its natural light and great study atmosphere. However, to a lot of students (mostly those who live on the side of campus near the football field) these libraries are very inaccessible/ inconvenient. It can take almost half an hour to get to these locations from Les Prince Hall and even longer in the winter. In the cold weather, it is especially brutal. There and back, its almost an hour of walking! Has the library considered running shuttle buses or golf carts from this area to the various libraries so students do not need to waste so much time and can make the most of what the library has to offer? It would be nice for students not be discouraged by a long trek in the freezing cold?

Library response: Thank you for your suggestion. Transportation to/from and within campus is a very complicated topic, one which is discussed at many different tables and in many contexts.  I cannot see us being in a position to provide the kind of shuttle service between libraries (basically to and from other parts of the campus) which you are requesting at this moment in time, but it may be that this becomes part of a larger conversation related to the LRT, city bus schedules/routes, opening of the new Peter George Centre for Living & Learning, and the proposed reconstruction of the School of Business. We will continue to raise these types of concerns at meetings where we are involved in these larger conversations. In the meantime Mills Library is much closer than HSL and Thode, and there are some parts of the building which students do enjoy studying in very much. Why not give us a try? Anne Pottier, Associate University Librarian, Services/Facilities (Jan 30/19)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink

(Nov 28/18) Fire alarm at 12:07 today: 55 LOUD bells & no announcement (as of 12:14) why ! ?? !! whos in charge ? and: has no one ever heard of / considered damage to hearing ? This is a hospital, correct ? ----

Library response: Thank you for your comment. The library has no control over the announcements made in the building. We have forwarded your comment to hospital administration. (Nov 28/18)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)

Follow-up Comments:

Thank you for your comment. Yesterday we had many complaints about the library being too warm AND too cold. We are not clear where the issues are. When you have a moment, please contact me directly to let me know the location in the library where the temperature was too cold so that we can investigate more thoroughly? Thank you. mckinn (2019-04-04)

Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Oct 18/18) Often students book rooms and do not use them. Potentially figure out a way to confirm this so that others may use. i.e. send an email 10 min. before to confirm.

Library response: Thank you for your comment and suggestion regarding our group study room booking system.  We do have a policy for group's who do not show up for their selected booking time.  They have 15 minutes from the time of the booking to show up at their selected group study room.  After the 15 minutes, if the room is still unoccupied their booking will be cancelled and another group can use the room.  https://library.mcmaster.ca/mrbs/  If you see an unoccupied room please do not hesitate to ask a full time staff member at the Services desk for assistance. Thank you again for your comment and suggestion. (Oct 18/18)
Answered by: Ann Pearce (Supervisor, Information Services, Innis Library)
Categories: Other, Innis  |  Permalink

(Sep 10/18) It would be helpful to list the locations of prayer spaces within the libraries on the new website.

Library response: That's a good idea, thanks. I have passed this along to the group who is adding new content to the new website.   (Sep 10/18)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink

(Sep 5/18) The sixth floor in Mills is suppose to be a silent study area, yet every time i come here there is always 1 group that is not mindful of others. It may be a good idea to have a worker regularly monitor the floor throughout the day to make sure that people are respectful of others and follow the rules.

Library response: Thanks for your suggestion. We do have staff walk through all of our spaces on a fairly regular basis, but can't be everywhere at all times. In the future, may I suggest you first ask the loud parties to quiet down, and if this doesn't work please send an email to quiet@mcmaster.ca or complete the form which can be found at https://library.mcmaster.ca/forms/report-noise-quiet-area These get sent directly to staff who will come speak to the chatty groups. Please make sure to give us some indication of where the problem is so we don't waste time trying to figure out where they are. Hope this helps! Anne   (Sep 10/18)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Jul 16/18) Chairs at HSL are not comfortable, there is no back support. The chairs are not ergonomically correct. Very uncomfortable.

Library response: Thank you for your feedback. We have had most of our chairs for over 10 years and this is our first complaint. I am wondering if you can provide us with more detail about where you were sitting when you were in the library. I am concerned that some of our chairs may be breaking down which is why there is no longer any back support. We are working to get some chairs replaced and your feedback will be useful in helping us decide where in the library we need to start. Please contact me directly so we can discuss. Thank you. (Jul 17/18)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Mar 20/18) I must say, the lower level womens bathroom (not too sure about the mens?) is probably the most unhygienic, grimiest bathroom on campus. Of course, this is as just as much the fault of those who use it, but is there anyway it could be cleaned more frequently throughout the day? I dont think there has been a time Ive been in there and the garbage wasnt overfilling, or the floor was flooded with water. Thanks!

Library response: Thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your concerns. I have reported your observations to Facilities Services and they will be investigating shortly to make sure the washrooms are well maintained throughout the day. In the meantime, we have asked that housekeeping do a quick clean up as soon as possible. Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss this in more detail. (Mar 20/18)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Nov 9/17) will u be bringing out more puzzles????

Library response: We are currently gathering more puzzles from friends and family. If you know anyone who wants to donate to our collection please ask them to contact me. But, don’t forget about your schoolwork. Puzzles can be addictive and we don't want you falling behind in your studies :). Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We appreciate your feedback. (Nov 9/17)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Nov 1/17) The link attached to the how-to for renewing library books leads to the old library account system. If someone hadnt helped me, I would have been in a pickle. It might help other first- year students if the link is updated. Just a thought...

Library response: Thanks for letting us know. The link has now been updated. (Nov 2/17)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink

(Sep 8/17) Of course it was too good to last ! 3 days of warm/hot water in the womens washroom (library entrance) for the first time in 1 year? 2 years? and today its cold again. This is pathetic.

Library response: Thanks for the feedback. I will submit your concerns to hospital engineering immediately.  (Sep 8/17)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Aug 29/17) I tried to renew the library books today but I found out that the log-in feature has changed. I am not sure why features that are not broken are being fixed, and now end up being broken. So now, I cannot renew the books online so I either have to pay a fine or bring the books back personally for renewal, which are either way, a waste of time and money.

Library response: Thanks for your message. We migrated to a new library catalogue and system earlier this month and there appear to be a few things which have just started not working. One of these things would be getting access to your account so you can renew books.  We are working to correct these problems as quickly as we can. We will keep the Service Alerts on the library's home page updated and are tweeting out updates as they occur. We will make sure to waive any fines incurred as a result of not being able to renew your books. We appreciate your patience. Please contact the Innis Library at 905-525-9140 Ext. 22081 or inncirc@mcmaster.ca. Please provide us with your information and we will be happy to renew those items for you.  We can also walk you through the new log in process.  We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. (Aug 29/17)
Answered by: pottier,apearce
Categories: Other, Innis  |  Permalink

(Jul 20/17) Hello fellow Marauders, I was wondering whether the university would invest in something like this: https://twitter.com/westsydulibrary/status/823425172711555073 . If McMaster wants to see itself as a top-tier university, it should try to invest in these material things which are both beneficial to the end-user, i.e. students, and positively influence the place. Thanks for reading. Best Regards, Mohamed Mirza

Library response: Thanks for your suggestion around the napping pods. We have seen these and do have something like this on a list of new things to consider providing for our students. I will investigate this model some more, so thanks for providing us with a model to look at. Can't promise if/when we might be able to do something like this, since our course cost would be a factor, but we will consider it.   (Jul 20/17)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Jun 16/17) It would be greatly appreciated if the grammarly subscription is reinstated. It was extremely useful and helped me improve my writing. I know there is the free version, but it isnt the same. Thank you.

Library response: Thanks for sharing your concern.  The library has been funding Grammarly for a number of years, paying a substantial figure for campus-wide access. With the fall of the Canadian dollar, the library's budget is under some constraints, and this product was identified as outside the area that the library typically supports.  We have approached other offices on campus without finding support to pick it up.  The alternatives are the free version, which offers a limited number of checks - https://www.grammarly.com/premium , or an individual subscription.  Grammarly is offering Mac students a 50% discount off of list - https://goo.gl/vhEIjM – which we hope will help. Please feel free to contact me directly if you'd like to discuss this in more detail. (Jun 19/17)
Answered by: Janice Adlington (Head, Collections & Content Strategy)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink

(Dec 12/16) fire alarm: today at 1:09 - 31 rings, then a screech, 6 rings, 4 more screeches, 11 rings no message (and it is now 1:19) This is a hospital. Are there no audiologists on staff? Is there no concern about damage to hearing from high decibels? from prolonged and repeated noise? Why 31 rings? Why do 10 not suffice? Why the screeches? And - how about a location ???

Library response: Thank you for sharing your concern. We are not sure why today's fire alarm do not follow proper protocol (including the regular announcement about location). I have sent a note to hospital security to obtain more information.  (Dec 12/16)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Dec 2/16) re. the womens washroom, upper level at the entrance to the library: why is there no hot (or at least, warm) water in the taps? Last week: same problem.

Library response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have forwarded your concerns to facilities management. When I receive a response I will update this post.  (Dec 2/16)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Apr 5/16) Would it be possible for the study cubicles on the lower level to be wiped down at some point during the day as they do at the Innis library? For example in the early morning, or right before closing the night before. Too many people keep eating and leaving residues of their food on the study surfaces. Thank You

Library response: Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I have forwarded your concerns directly to the managers responsible for addressing housekeeping in the Faculty of Health Sciences. We are currently working very hard to ensure the Library is a welcoming and clean space for our students.  Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions or comments. (Apr 5/16)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Feb 1/16) Hello, Several suggestions related to the basement of Thode: There are many broken lights in the basement of Thode, especially in the study rooms. Would it be possible to repair these? The furniture (especially tables) in many of the Thode study rooms is decrepit and not terribly useful/flexible. Would it be possible to either find new tables or redistribute the existing furniture in a better way? The capacities of the Thode study rooms listed on the booking website are incorrect. For example, B106 is listed as 8 but comfortably seats 12. Would it be possible to update these? The appearance of the entire basement of Thode is rather depressing and looks terrible. Really, its the ceiling tiles that are the biggest eyesore.There are currently at least 7 missing and 10 with the skin removed that I can see from where I am sitting. Would it be possible to just remove them wholesale, as was done on the first floor? Instead of throwing good money after bad? I realize that this would be a significant investment, as the walls of the study rooms would have to be extended to the concrete ceiling, and the whole basement would likely have to be painted, but this seems to be the best long-term solution and it would give the library a more modern look (instead of the current 70s throwback). Thank you for your consideration.

Library response: Thanks so much for submitting these comments. We agree with you that the overall atmosphere of the basement of Thode Library is basically just awful.  We have recently completed a Library Master Space Plan which will provide us with a roadmap to renovate the rest of Thode Library and much of Mills Library over the next 5-10 years. These plans include replacement of things like ceiling tiles, lights, carpeting, furniture, etc.  In fact, we hope to start with some minor renovations to the lower level of Thode this summer. So stay tuned - it will get better! Great suggestion about updating the capacity numbers for the group study rooms. We will take a look at these rooms and make these changes on the website. (Feb 2/16)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Thode  |  Permalink

(Jan 20/16) Blinds should be added to the windows on the second floor, particularly along the south side. During the day, practically from 11:00 until sundown, the sun shines directly through those windows and the glare makes the desks situated along that side virtually unusable.

Library response: Thanks for your email. As you will see there are some stationary blinds in this area. Given the size of the windows we can't install blinds which get drawn since these would require significant maintenance over time. We will take a look at whether it is possible to add film to some of these windows to block some of the glare, but still give us lots of light. (Jan 20/16)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Thode  |  Permalink

(Sep 11/15) Please load Stata software on computers at Innis library

Library response: Hello, Thank you for the suggestion - have you tried SPSS for Windows on the systems in Innis? Is there something specific you need to do that SPSS does not support?
Further: Ines Perkovic from Innis Library says: It looks as though Stata IS available in all the UTS student labs. http://www.mcmaster.ca/uts/lab_facilities/labs/software_avail/index.html The closest student lab to the Innis Library is the KTH basement (KTH B121 and B123) - only a short walk away from us.  This may ultimately be the solution/answer to the suggestion below. (Sep 14/15)
Answered by: mcallic
Categories: Other, Innis  |  Permalink

(Mar 30/15) More computers with SPSS would be fantastic. Kinda difficult when only 4 of them have SPSS on them. My stats class has 300 students so. And the labs are always in use for classes.

Library response: Fortunately, there are a few options to help alleviate your frustration.  UTS provides a link to their student labs calendar which can help identify the labs that are not booked for classes during the day.  Alternatively, Thode and Mills Libraries offer SPSS on their “research computers”.   Click here for their equipment locations and available software.  Software costs prevent us from increasing our SPSS access at this time. (Mar 31/15)
Answered by: Neera Bhatnagar (Head of Systems & Public Services, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Mar 17/15) Most of the couches on the upper floors of Mills are worn through - the leather is cracked and/or broken completely and the filling is often showing. This is unpleasant to look at but also uncomfortable to sit on. Please do something!

Library response: Were are you sitting? We have removed most of these couches, just recently. (Mar 17/15)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Jan 21/15) This is mainly an aesthetics problem but Ive noticed the majority of ceiling wallpaper have fell or are in the process of crumbling - thus exposing the ugly ceiling structure giving Thode a ghetto dilapidated look. Its prominent on all floors as well, and eventually, all ceiling wallpaper will rot, crumble, and fall down. I was wondering when this will be fixed - Thode could look better than it does right now!

Library response: Yes, we agree, this looks terrible. This has been an ongoing problem at Thode for years. We are in discussions with a company to see if the ceiling tiles can be replaced. We are always re-attaching the skins with spray adhesive, but given the age of these tiles the skin keeps coming off. We are working on this problem actively and hope to be able to find a solution soon. Thanks for taking the time to submit this suggestion. (Jan 21/15)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Thode  |  Permalink

(Nov 24/14) The elevator doors open and close repeatedly when the elevator remains stationary on the 6th floor of Mills. This is a nuisance on the silent study floor. Please fix this asap.

Library response: This problem has been resolved. Thanks for reporting it. (Nov 24/14)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Oct 24/14) It would be amazing if there was disinfectant/cleaning wipes available to wipe off a desk before sitting down to study (or even to clean up before you leave for the next person).

Library response: This is an interesting idea. We will see what might be possible. Thanks for the suggestion! (Oct 27/14)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Thode  |  Permalink

(Oct 9/14) Hello, I am curious if anybody has noticed a subtle vibration running through the lower floor of Health Sciences Library. I am trying to determine if there is actually a vibration or if I am suffering from a kinaesthetic hallucination possibly brought on by some kind of environmental factor. Its not quite people in the air conditioning, but neither is it particularly conducive to my studies. Thank you for your assistance.

Library response: I have investigated with the staff working that day and they did not receive any complaints about floor vibrations.  In order to do a thorough investigation, I will require additional information.  Please contact me directly to facilitate this.  If you experience the vibrations again, please inform the staff at the Circulation Desk.  This will help us isolate the date and time the incident occurred. (Oct 14/14)
Answered by: Neera Bhatnagar (Head of Systems & Public Services, Health Sciences Library)

(Oct 2/14) Id like to thank the McMaster employees or subcontractors responsible for communicating the importance of noise reduction to events in the Mills-MUSC square. This is certainly an improvement! Thanks again.

Library response: Glad we could help. We do try to report this when the noise gets out of control (Nov 17/14)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Mar 31/14) If a fire is not an imminent danger, then why are we listening to shouted announcements about it? If a fire is an imminent danger, then why not word the announcement more clearly? Isnt there a bit of a logical discontinuity between cryptic and shouted?

Library response: Thank you for taking the time to express your concern. The Health Sciences Library is located inside the Hospital, which is administered by Hamilton Health Sciences. As a result, HHS fire safety regulations apply in our library space. The intercom system and the process for making announcements have been designed to ensure the safety of all building occupants including patients, staff and students.
Although the wording of the announcements may seem cryptic, the information does have meaning for library staff who are required to participate in regular fire safety training. In the event we had to evacuate the library, the messaging would be very clear and library staff would be available to help direct the evacuation process. I realize that the frequency and volume of the announcements are disruptive, however, there is no way they can be changed or be eliminated. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have additional questions.   (Mar 31/14)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Mar 10/14) Is it possible to get a ban on the use of subwoofers on campus during the month of March? I say this in the context of someone who appreciates the importance of letting off a bit of steam, however since subwoofers penetrate most conventional earplugs as well as windows, and the kind of music that is preferred for running outdoor events is, shall we say, heavily irritating, I feel this is somewhat akin to smoking inside. Clearly one should expect a certain amount of disruption on campus in September. Running a subwoofer on campus in March however is not school spirit - it is sadism. You can pump the bass on welcome week or on 420 - just not when EVERYBODY WHO CARES ABOUT THEIR MARKS IS TRYING TO STUDY.

Library response: Thanks for your comment. We will forward this suggetion on to the MSU Executive for their consideration. (Mar 10/14)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink

(Feb 28/14) There is no water fountain in HSL. It is not good for our health

Library response: I share your frustration about the water fountain in the Health Sciences Library. Unfortunately, there is an issue with the plumbing in this area and the water is unsafe for drinking. This is a larger issue with the plumbing in the wall behind the water fountain. Building management and the Health and Safety office have not been able to find a workable solution. Until that happens, the fountain will remain closed. The water in the library washrooms is safe for drinking. The accessible washrooms on both the upper and lower levels have faucets that can accommodate large water bottles. There are also drinking water taps available in the hospital cafeteria. Thank you for taking time to express your concern and feel free to contact me directly if you have any other questions. Thank you.   (Mar 31/14)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Jan 26/14) Please fix the rattling intake fan on the ceiling of entrance level of the library. It is on the west side of the floor near the lounge chairs. It is quite annoying. Thanks

Library response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The lounge area at the entrance is not actually part of the library. I will forward your concern to facilities management and ask that they take care of it as soon as possible. (Jan 27/14)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)

Follow-up Comments:

The fan is not near the entrance. It is near the area where the leather lounge chairs are on the same level as the library checkout desk. (2014-01-28)

Thank you for responding. We will investigate. Please contact me directly (mckinn@mcmaster) so that I can gather more precise information about this problem. Regards, Jennifer McKinnell, Director, Health Sciences Library. mckinn (2014-01-28)

Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Dec 4/13) There should be available water fountains in HSL or the surrounding area. For students studying in the library for long periods of time this is very inconvenient. The water fountain on the first floor has been out of service for a very long time, and has shown no improvement. Every other library on campus has a water fountain on each floor.

Library response: I share your frustration about the water fountain in the Health Sciences Library. Unfortunately, there is an issue with the plumbing in this area and the water is unsafe for drinking. This is a larger issue with the plumbing in the wall behind the water fountain. Building management and the Health and Safety office have not been able to find a workable solution. Until that happens, the fountain will remain closed. The water in the library washrooms is safe for drinking. The accessible washrooms on both the upper and lower levels have faucets that can accommodate large water bottles. There are also drinking water taps available in the hospital cafeteria. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other questions. Thank you. (Dec 6/13)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Dec 2/13) Why were the plants along the curved wall of Thode taken away? Any chance of them coming back?

Library response: Thanks for your message. While we agree the plants added to the abiance of Thode, they were removed because we had complaints from users about the dust and mould they created.  They were also very difficult to maintain, in terms of watering, pruning, etc. There are no plans to replace them at this time.  (Dec 2/13)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Thode  |  Permalink

(Nov 17/13) Please clean the downstairs and upstairs washrooms more often. There is often litter on the floor and an unhygienic scent when you enter.

Library response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Earlier in the summer we made arrangements to have the library washrooms cleaned more frequently on the weekends. It seems that from time to time, this new cleaning schedule is not followed. I will investigate right away. Please contact us again if the problem persists. (Nov 20/13)
Answered by: Jennifer McKinnell (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Oct 28/13) The construction being done above Innis is ridiculously loud and intrusive. Could this not be done earlier in the day, say, starting at 7? Or maybe on Saturday when Innis is closed? The success of the silent area in Innis is ruined by the constant drilling!

Library response: Thanks for your message. This is not work related to the library, but we did find out more about it. It turns out Campus Facilities is doing some foundation work on the wall below Innis, which is probably vibrating up through the floor. I have been told this work will take another day or so, but the contractor has agreed to do most of the drilling work in the morning, with patching work being done in the afternoon. We apologize for this inconvenience, but appreciate your patience.  Anne Pottier, Associate University Librarian, Services & Facilities (Oct 28/13)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Innis  |  Permalink

(Oct 24/13) As students stay to study during the extended study hours, there is no access to food in the student centre or in other buildings. The least that should be done is ensuring that the vending machines in Mills Learning Commons are actually functioning. Learning commons is also generally much warmer than room temperature, even reaching up to 86 degrees fahrenheit. As the only available study space on campus during these late hours, it needs to be more accommodating for students as they study, rather than distracting them with these temperatures and inaccessibility to food/drink. Thank you.

Library response: Thanks for your message. We do apologize for the vending machines not working. Both companies have been contacted and asked to both repair the machines and to ensure they are fully stocked between now and the end of exams. We do know how important this service is to students using the Learning Commons area to study late at night. We are in the process of replacing the air supply fan which feeds the Learning Commons. This work has been ongoing for several months, and should be completed by the time everyone returns from the mid-term recess. The project itself has taken much longer than was originally planned. Our apologies for how warm it can get there. Thanks for being patient during the last few days of this project. (Oct 24/13)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Sep 27/13) Please extend the closing time to 1:00a.m. (I am open to working the extra hours). Prohibit students from coming in with food. The smell can have a distracting effect on other students.

Library response: Thank you for your written submission that was left in our Library suggestion box.  Budget, staffing, & gate count numbers do not allow us to be open until 1:00 a.m. each night however currently there are extended hours available at the Mills Learning Commons.  Please see this link to the hours: http://library.mcmaster.ca/hours-info
The Mills Learning Commons is currently open until 2:00 a.m. then moves to 24/5 on Oct. 20th and then 24/7 during exams. We're sorry to hear that food smells are distracting.  Eating is permitted in Innis Library however we can revisit & review this policy.  We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you for your comments & if there's anything else we can help you with please do not hestiate to talk to one of the staff members at the Library Services desk. (Sep 27/13)
Answered by: Ann Pearce (Supervisor, Information Services, Innis Library)
Categories: Other, Innis  |  Permalink

(Jun 27/13) It is mind boggling how McMaster does not invest in internet access to the library. I have read complaint after complaint about the speed of access to library, and yet, nothing seems to be done to fix this problem. I have spent countless hours trying to get work done off campus. The access to library on -line is simply impossible. I have to be on campus to get my work done. This defeats the purpose of working from home. The cost to me is taking a day off work plus travel and parking. I know that this problem can and should be solved so that students can do their work from home. I cannot get access from my work-place nor from home. Magically, I can get access to almost any other website. There is a severe bottleneck in the McMaster sysemt and I would like to know what is being done to fix this serious problem

Library response: I understand your frustration, and share it. The particular issue is not one of speed, it's about connectivity, specifically for users off-campus coming in via DSL lines. We know that much, but what has made this issue so elusive is that the problems are neither persistent, nor consistenly replicatable. We have taken numerous steps to mitigate the issue, but as yet have been unable to make much of a dent. We are working with UTS and others on campus. I agree that there is a bottleneck here for this particular traffic stream, but finding the cause/source has been thus far challenging. I should repeat here the one known solution: simply hit reload on the page. Typically, this problem manifests itself as the browser just spinning and spinning with nothing loading. If one has waited 7-8 seconds and nothing has loaded, it never will, so just hit reload. In my experience, this resolves the issue within two or three clicks. Not ideal, but at least it gets things moving again. One last note: there are major upgrades occurring this summer to the network backbone for the campus, so hopefully many benefits will result from that work. (Aug 1/13)
Answered by: Dale Askey (Associate University Librarian, Library Learning Technologies)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Apr 2/13) I always dread walking into Thode because of the smokers that seem to congregate right by the entrance (usually right in front of the sign telling them to stand at least 9m away). Can there be some more enforcement of this rule? To top it off, sometimes if people use the automatic door opener the lovely smell of second hand smoke wafts in towards the study section at the far curved wall since the door stays open longer.

Library response: We couldn't agree more..it is awful to have to walk through a cloud of smoke when entering or exiting any building. There is an official NO SMOKING WITHIN 9 METRES OF THE ENTRANCE posted. We will do our best to monitor the situation and talk to offenders, but would ask everyone else's assistance with this as well. (Apr 2/13)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Thode  |  Permalink

(Feb 11/13) A few years ago we had floor plans for Mills, that could be accessed via the Library Floor Plans page on our website. Since the renovations, and the changes to the library in the past few years, the Mills Floor Plans were taken down, likely because they were out of date. The floor plans were extremely useful in directing people who were seeking out certain rooms from the stand point of being behind the front desk, but as a student I also found them to be a helpful resource. Are there any plans in putting up new floor plans? Even outdated floor plans are more useful than a lack of floor plans.

Library response: Thanks for the comment. Yes, we did take the ones for Mills down because they were so out of date, but we do plan on replacing them with something basic to start, then perhaps a little more sophisticated down the road. Not quite sure when this will happen, but knowing that people actually did use them provides us with greater incentive to push these out. The floor plans for Innis and Thode are current. Stay tuned! (Feb 12/13)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Feb 4/13) You really need to update the signs on the doors in the stairwell to accurately reflect the books that are on each floor. I let it go without comment last term, but I have wasted too much time now walking up and down that stairwell being misled as to where I can find the books that I need. And even if you are still re-oganizing, I dont think that it is too much work or trouble to update the signs based on the latest state of the floors that still have books on them. Regards, Nicholas

Library response: Thanks for your comment. I am sorry, we totally overlooked the signage on the interior staircase doors. We will correct this as quickly as we can. (Feb 4/13)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Mills  |  Permalink

(Feb 1/13) I have noticed over the past 5 months that both ladies washrooms in health science library are incredibly dirty inside the stalls, particularly the toilets and inside the hand dryers. Graffiti on the back of doors is also a problem, some of it is offensive. I am wondering if there is some way more frequent rounds of these facilities can be made to keep such high traffic facilities cleaner?

Library response: Thanks for bringing these issues to our attention.  We did contact housekeeping in the Health Sciences Centre a while ago, and thought that the graffiti had been dealt with.  The washrooms in the Health Sciences Library are among the busiest in the building and they are cleaned regularly.  However, we are definitely following up on your concerns. (Feb 4/13)
Answered by: Liz Bayley (Director, Health Sciences Library)
Categories: Other, Health Sciences  |  Permalink

(Jan 18/13) On the home page of your website list the various libraries at McMaster, e.g. Mills, Health Sciences, etc. None of these are listed anywhere I could find on the main or drop down menus.

Library response: Thank you for pointing that out. We are moving toward a major overhaul of our content, and this is high on the list to correct. It's kind of shocking how hard we make it to find some rather important bits of information! (Jan 22/13)
Answered by: Dale Askey (Associate University Librarian, Library Learning Technologies)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink

(Nov 9/12) I bike to campus every day, and most days will spend a good amount of time studying in Thode. Ive noticed that finding a spot to lock my bike is nearly impossible. I think it would be very helpful to add more bike racks to the area outside of Thode to accommodate for the amount of study space available. Ive locked my bike outside and a number of times have come back to see my bike crushed underneath 3 or 4 others trying to get thier bike locked to the rack. I think that by adding 1 or 2 more bike racks right outside the library entrance it would reduce the amount of congestion at the one bike rack.

Library response: Thanks for the suggestion. I will pass it along to the Office of Sustainability who is responsible for the placement of bike racks on campus. (Nov 12/12)
Answered by: Anne Pottier (Associate University Librarian, Library Services)
Categories: Other, Thode  |  Permalink

(Nov 6/12) The library website is painfully slow. It takes forever to load pages and sometimes they dont even work. This makes searching for books unnecessarily difficult. Is there anything that can be done to improve the speed of the library website?

Library response: We are aware of the issues that impact this server, and are working step-by-step to mitigate them. Improvement should be seen soon. (Nov 7/12)
Answered by: Dale Askey (Associate University Librarian, Library Learning Technologies)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink

(Oct 18/12) Why is the McMaster Library web site/catalogue/e journals/etc. so slow, in particular when accessing off campus? I use a variety of internet providers in a variety of places and countries, and I use Chrome or Mozilla or IE. I saw the excuse in another suggestion that it is an seasonal issue and happens to other universities. However, I always have speedy access at UOttawa, but absolutely laborious access at McMaster. If this is a problem with IT, could you discuss with them how your webpages do not load quickly and how it needs to be fixed?

Library response: To separate the threads clearly: there are two issues in play here. One relates to the response time for our site, and in particular for any resources accessed via LibAccess, which is detailed here:   http://library.mcmaster.ca/news/22291   The other issue is the speed of the network within the library, and in particular, the speed of the wifi network. I've provided various replies related to that issue; this one captures most of the particulars and includes a suggestion for effective lobbying for a remedy:   http://library.mcmaster.ca/php/suggestionbox.php?f=recordbrowse&library=ALL&id=686 (Nov 12/12)
Answered by: Dale Askey (Associate University Librarian, Library Learning Technologies)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink

(Aug 24/12) I realize that the library is aware of their website problems. However, I cannot understand how a library that prides itself on technological advancement at a major Canadian research university has not yet resolved this ongoing problem. Your website, catalogue, databases, and electronic journal collections are essentially dead in the water. As a stroke of irony, it took me 15 minutes to even be able to access this page. This issue needs to be resolved and quickly. The librarys inability to fix this problem has repercussions for the research effectiveness of the entire university.

Library response: I understand your frustration, but it's critical that you understand two points. One is that these issues do not impact all users equally, i.e.- the vast majority of our users do not experience these issues. This is directly related to the second point, that being that the core issue concerns how network traffic comes into campus. The short version of that is that there are basically two main trunks, one that carries most DSL-origin traffic, the other cable-origin traffic. For those sitting in an environment where they use neither (say, another institution that has T1 or T3 access), what matters is what type of provider serves that locale. At any rate, the traffic coming in over the DSL trunk has indeed experienced packet loss and other issues. This is not a library issue, but a campus network issue. We are as frustrated as you are about this persistent problem, but it's beyond our ability to control the campus network (it is a UTS issue). I highly recommend contacting them, describing the situation, and letting them know what type of Internet access you are using. (Aug 24/12)
Answered by: Dale Askey (Associate University Librarian, Library Learning Technologies)
Categories: Other  |  Permalink