Databases

Search across Gale's primary source databases, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), with links to additional content from ProQuest's Early English Books (EEBO).  Individual databases can also be explored separately or in combination.

A database of almost 80 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

A global listing of over 1 million names representing approximately 900,000 places and geographic features of the modern world. Maintained by the Getty Information Institute. Organized hierarchically from continents at the broadest level, to nations, states, regions and cities at narrower levels. Provides latitude/longitude, vernacular and English names, and source of information. Historical names and notes are provided for most major inhabited places.

Includes coverage of 180 issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present that are key to understanding today’s world including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in Asia Pacific.

Online full-page newspaper archive of The Globe & Mail from May 1844, current 4 years embargoed. Coverage includes all the stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from Canada's national newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era.

The most current issues of The Globe & Mail are available in print and online (plain-text) via Factiva and other databases.

Google Books is a partnership project between Google and major libraries such as Harvard University Library, Stanford University Library, the New York Public Library, Princeton University Library, and Oxford University Library, as well as some commercial publishers. It allows you to search the content of hundreds of thousands of books and view the full text of books that are out of copyright and in the public domain, and portions of text from books that are still copyrighted. If a book publisher is directly involved, the publisher determines which portions (table of contents, index, sample chapters) are included and how much can be viewed.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. To get links to full-text from your Google Scholar results (especially when off-campus), use the Google Scholar - with MacID login link or set up Library links in Google Scholar.

Search Google Scholar directly in the search box below, to avoid reCAPTCHA or Invalid Domain errors:

The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects. The digital archive makes available a wealth of editorial content and photography, providing essential insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister newspaper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.

The most current issues of The Gluardian are available online (plain-text) via  Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases 

The most current issues of The Observer are available online (plain-text) via  Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases