Databases

Cambridge Companions are a series of guides to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. With over 600 titles and 4,000 essays, it offers subject or theme based cross-searchable collections, available in three sub-collections: Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture, and Cambridge Companions to Music.

Cambridge Histories is a series reference works of over 400 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

Includes the content of nineteen Canadian reference titles in a single online resource.

This is a collection of monograph publications from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centres working in the area of health and medical research. The publications included are both general policy documents as well as those of a specialized technical nature.

A collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Contains 19 million pages (96,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is largely composed of materials published prior to 1921. Canadiana Online also includes all content from the closed Early Canadiana Online (ECO) collection, including content from the CIHM microfiche series.

AccessMedicine's Case Files Collection from McGraw-Hill Education offers the best-selling Case Files content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases. The collection features the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books (such as anatomy, pharmacology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery), and the personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.

Currently contains over 20,000 scores (from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers' output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.

Access to the recorded music requires a separate subscription; this portion of the database is not available at McMaster.

Provides full-text access to medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; FIRST CONSULT point-of-care clinical monographs; PROCEDURES Consult, systematic guidance of procedures integral to the practice of medicine; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines; Patient education handouts and CME materials.

A full-text database containing working papers, journal articles, country data and maps,  policy briefs, special reports, research papers, videos, books, case studies, and current analysis & commentary related to international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. 

Content is aggregated from 300 international publishing institutions including government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centres, and scholarly journals. The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) supplies country surveys with political and economic data and maps. More EIU content is available in the EIU Viewpoint database.