Databases

Contains information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, pulled from over 750 handbooks, encyclopedias, and journal articles. Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.

Learn about research methods and research design through stories from researchers in the field and their critique of their own research articles.

Learn to master quantitative and qualitative data analysis with step-by-step guides and sample data.

Read bite-sized introductions to hundreds of research concepts and methods written by global experts.

Contains over 50 million articles from over 23,000 full text journals covering many disciplines.

Provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry.  Includes: Houben-Weyl Archive, Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates and Science of Synthesis Reference Library.

Provides online access to over 4,000 journals and 30,000 books published by Elsevier. Strong collections in the social sciences, pure and applied sciences, engineering, and medicine.  This service allows you to browse or search the journals and access full text articles (PDF & HTML).  McMaster has access to many, but not all titles at this site. 

SciFinder-n is a comprehensive source for chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. It provides access to new workflow solutions such as PatentPak™, MethodsNow™ and Retrosynthesis Planner as well as the core Chemical Abstracts Service databases available in classic SciFinder.  

Scopus provides broad indexing and citation coverage of academic journals, books and conference proceedings published worldwide. Delivering a comprehensive overview ofresearch output in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

SpringerMaterials: The Landolt-Börnstein Database, is the world's largest resource for physical and chemical data in materials science. This resource includes 250,000 substances and material systems, 3,000 properties, and 1,200,000 literature citations.

SpringerMaterials incorporates all volumes of Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the largest and most respected compilation of data in physics and chemistry founded in 1883, along with a number of unique and specialized databases.

Core Components

A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods for experiments. It is the largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedicine and life sciences, bringing together content from Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Methods Primers and Springer Protocols.

SpringerLINK service offers full-text access to more than 3,000 e-journals (and other content types) covering disciplines in science, technology, health, engineering, environment, economics and law. McMaster has purchased the Springer Historical Archives with back issue coverage from v.1 onwards for most journals.

Graphical abstracts of new developments in synthetic organic chemistry. Includes the most important reactions published in the recent scientific literature, presented as easy to read reaction schemes that are searchable by topic and reaction type. From the Royal Society of Chemistry.