Databases

The world's most comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PubMed.

A growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and an archive of materials from brain science conferences. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work. New materials are added on a regular basis, and these additions are announced in the CogNet News service.

Provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. It serves as a resource for scholars seeking outlets to publish their work, providing information on topics covered, editorial policies, contact information, and submission guidelines.  Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

Includes over 2 million citations covering literature, language, film, linguistics and folklore. Provides access to scholarly articles in over 4,400 journals; also covers relevant books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings and bibliographies. The database also has an identifiable subset of more than 77,000 records that constitute the JSTOR subfile. This consists of citation records for documents in JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection. The documents date back as far as 1881 and contain direct links to the full-text articles on the JSTOR website.

Online collection of recorded sound, including folk, popular, classical and world music, speeches, and oral histories, delivered via streaming audio.

Browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or topic, e.g. American folk traditions, blues, bluegrass and old-time country, American Indian traditions, world traditions (by continent), jazz, classical, spoken word, sound effects.

Historical content includes: ballads from the American Revolution, War of 1812, or the American Civil War; freedom and protest songs from the Civil Rights era; songs from the Slave Coast; Canada's history in song. Spoken word content includes: speeches, biography, memoir, drama (e.g. ancient Greek tragedies), poetry, language instruction.