Databases
Best Bets for Literature
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
A database on Greco-Roman antiquity (second millennium B.C. to 800 A.D.) covering a wide spectrum of subjects - language and literature, history, archaeology, philosophy, law, science and technology. It indexes books, articles in journals, conference papers and dissertations in English, French, Spanish, and German languages; 1,500 periodicals are covered. A brief abstract accompanies each article entry.
Provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world.
Brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages.
A full-featured scholarly resource for original research into the entire lexical content of Early Modern English. A historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.
Collection includes works that have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world. All works in the database appear in English. The database includes formal treatises on criticism and aesthetics, discourse on the character or practice of specific genres, and a selection of literary biography, criticism, and history that illustrates important general arguments and precepts.
Provides the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day.
Provides critical analyses, biographies, and bibliographies for authors from every age and literary discipline. The database covers more than 130,000 novelists, essayist, poets, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Content is pulled from several well-known print reference series including the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Contemporary Authors.
