Access is available on and off campus to current McMaster University students, faculty and staff.
- The default Academic Search on the home page does not search all content in LexisNexis. It searches a selection of newspapers (U.S. & international), law reviews, company profiles and U.S. federal & state cases. For a more comprehensive and/or precise search, choose Search by Subject or Topic (just above the Academic Search box) and select from the resulting menu of sources/categories (e.g., All News). Once a category has been selected from the menu, click Advanced Options (appearing below the search box)to refine your search by date, segment, publication, source type, etc. (e.g.,All News (English)).
- When entering search terms in LexisNexis, try using an ! exclamation mark to replace endings (one or more letters, unlimited) and an * asterisk to replace one letter (or none).
Coverage: Dates vary by publication. Some sources date back as far as the 1970s, but the majority of sources are indexed from the early 1990's to the present.
LexisNexis provides access to over 5,000 sources covering a wide range of subject areas. Select Search by Subject or Topic (near the Academic Search box) to search the following categories:
- NEWS: Over 350 full text newspapers, including the Financial Times (back to 1982), the New York Times (back to 1980), the Observer (back to 1990), the Times / Sunday Times (back to 1985), the Hamilton Spectator (back to Oct. 7, 1991), Canada NewsWire (back to 1992), the Globe & Mail (back to 1977) and the Toronto Star (back to 1985).
- LEGAL (U.S.): Includes federal & state cases, statutes, regulations, patents and other legal materials from the United States.
- INTERNATIONAL LEGAL: Includes legal materials from Canada, the European Union, and other countries.
- COMPANIES: Includes public & private U.S., Canadian and international company profiles and industry reports.
- PEOPLE, PLACES AND THINGS: Includes biographical, consumer and country information.
Use the Source Directory (top of screen) to find or browse for titles within LexisNexis by name, publication type and/or topic. Once a source is located, click on the i icon to view coverage details.