Canadian Company Sources

Course code: Commerce 1B03/1E03
Course name: Business Environment and Organization
Course date: Fall 2017

NOTE:

  • Key titles are marked with a Best Bet icon Best Bet!
  • Online sources accessible to everyone are marked with an Open Access icon open access
  • Online sources only accessible to current McMaster students, faculty and staff (MAC ID required) are marked with a McMaster icon McMaster Users Only 

Other Useful Links:  Library Presentation Slides | Citation Guide for Business


Company Description and Analysis

Best Bet!McMaster Users Only Business Source Complete (select Business Searching Interface option)
On the ADVANCED SEARCH screen, click on the COMPANY PROFILES link on the right and search by company name. Reports can include a company overview, top competitors and a SWOT analysis.

open accessCanadian Company Capabilities
Select Go to Detailed Search to find companies by name, employee size, sales, NAICS code, exporting markets and more. Type in your company name and click on the Search button. If your company is listed, click on the company name to view its profile. Select the Market tab and look for the Geographic Markets section to see the specific countries with which the company has export experience. 

McMaster Users OnlyDBRS
Includes rating reports for selected Canadian companies. Strengths and challenges are often included. Search by company name.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyFactiva
Contains profiles on companies around the world. Select the Companies/Markets link and then click on the Company option. Search by company name or ticker symbol. Ownership type (i.e., listed/public or unlisted/private) is noted. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this library database. If you receive an error message, please try again later.

Best Bet!open accessFP500: Canada's Largest Corporations 
Ranks the  top private & public companies in Canada based on revenue/assets. Also identifies leading companies in several industries including finance, insurance, multimedia, telecommunications and more. 
Location: INNIS Reserve IPC 11 (Financial Post Magazine, June 2017) 

McMaster Users OnlyHoovers 
Includes reports on companies worldwide. Profiles typically include a company factsheet, overview, history, people, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, competitors and financials. 

Best Bet!McMaster Users Only Infomart
Contains corporate and financial data for Canadian companies. Try searching for a company name in the Corporate Surveys module (select link in left navigation menu within Infomart).

McMaster Users OnlyLexisNexis Academic
Contains reports on companies worldwide. At the initial search screen, select Search by Subject or Topic (top right, above Enter Search Terms box), go to the Companies menu > select Dossier (Company, Executive, & Industry) and type in a company name. Profiles include a snaphsot of the company (e.g., business description, company hierarchy, stock quotes & charts, top executives), news, financials, legal info and more. 

McMaster Users OnlyMergent Online
Online access to current and historical annual reports and financials for Canadian, U.S. and international companies.

McMaster Users OnlyPassport
Includes profiles for some Canadian companies along with financial, market share and brand information.

Best Bet!open accessSEDAR
Official filings for publicly traded Canadian companies. Contains company annual reports dating back to 1997. Search by company name or industry group.

McMaster Users OnlyThomson ONE
Thomson ONE contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokers and independent research firms.

Best Bet!open accessTop 1000 Biggest Canadian Companies 
NOTE: Current rankings are not freely available on the website; consult hard-copy on INNIS Reserve, IPC 10. 
Rankings of Canada's biggest corporations based on revenue/profits/assets. Rankings by industry are also provided. Lists include public and/or private companies.
Location of Print: INNIS Reserve IPC 10 (Report on Business, July 2017 - not available yet)


Company Funcational Area Focus

McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Monitor International Reports
Can include profiles and SWOT analyses on Canadian companies and industries. 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Premium Collection (formerly ProQuest Business Collection), varies by database/publication
Consists of 6 business databases that include thousands of full-text scholarly journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, newspapers, trade publications, industry reports, and books

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Source Complete
Full text for more than 1,200 scholarly business journals, magazines and other sources. Company profiles and SWOT analyses may also address functional areas of a company. 

Best Bet!open accessCanada's Top 100 Employers (current year online)
A guide to Canada's best places to work. Briefly covers issues such as work atmosphere & communications, financial benefits & compensation, health & family friendly benefits, training & skills development, community involvement, and more.
Location of Print: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2809 .C35 (2001 to 2006)

McMaster Users OnlyCBCA Reference & Current Events, 1982 to the present
Key articles from 500 Canadian business periodicals, magazines and newspapers

McMaster Users OnlyConference Board of Canada e-Library
Contains reports covering subject areas such as corporate finance, human resources management, corporate social responsibility, marketing, health & wellness and training & development. Primarily Canadain content.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyCPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly), 1988 to the present
Indexes articles from more than 1,500 magazines, journals and newspapers with significant Canadian content. 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyFactiva, dates vary by publication
Contains over 2,000 full-text newspapers from 200 countries in 26 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to Canadian publications. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later or try LexisNexis and CBCA.

Best Bet!open accessGoogle Scholar
Search for scholarly content on the Web. Adjust the Google Scholar settings to automatically connect to the full-text provided by McMaster libraries. Watch this video to find out how.

McMaster Users OnlyHoovers
Includes reports on companies worldwide. Profiles typically include a company overview and history. These (& other) sections of the profile may provide some insight into the functional areas of a company.  

Human Resources Management in Canada
Covers current management issues and identifies specific information on the latest governmental, legal, labour, business and HR developments in Canada
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5549.2 .C3H85 (current) vols.1-3

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyJournals @ ScholarsPortal, dates vary by publication
Search millions of articles from over 20,000 full text journals covering many academic disciplines, including business.

McMaster Users OnlyLexisNexis Academic, dates vary by publication
Includes over 300 full-text newspapers from around the world. At the initial search screen,click on Search by Subject or Topic (top right, above Enter Search Terms box) > go to the News menu > select All News. The phrase All News Search should now appear near the search box on the main page. Type your search terms in the box and/or use the Advanced Options to limit your search by date, source, segment/field, etc.

McMaster Users OnlyLynda.com - Login for current DSB students, faculty and staff only 
Provides access to thousands of high-quality instructional videos on a broad range of topics including business, communication, management and online and social media marketing.

McMaster Users OnlyWeb of Science, 1976 to current
Search for scholarly articles from thousands of journals in this multi-disciplinary database.

Last Reviewed:  September 13, 2017