Canadian and Local Marketing Resources

Course code: Business M650
Course name: Marketing Management
Course date: Winter 2017

Companies Economy & Industry
Consumers & Demographics Advertising & Marketing
Local Issues & News Hamilton Area Resources

Other Useful Links: Course Outline (Winter 2017) | Citation Guide for Business | How to Find ...  Industry Reports, Market Share and a SWOT Analysis 


Companies

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyCanadian Business Database, current
An online directory including over 1.9 million Canadian businesses (public & private). Can be searched by company name, type of business (including SIC or NAICS codes), location, employee size and sales ranges. 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyCanadian Business Patterns (CBP), 1988 to current 
Provides counts of business establishments in Canada by geography (by country, by province, by census division, by census metropolitan area) by industry (e.g., NAICS 2 to 6 digits) and employment size ranges. 
Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor) and INNIS Library (years 1997 to 2011 only)[Click on Start>Programs>Canadian Business Patterns]

Canadian Key Business Directory (Dun & Bradstreet)
Useful for finding key players in the industry by company name, SIC codes or geography (city). Only includes companies with $5 million in sales, 50 employees at a single or headquarters location, or 250 employees total. 
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223. C18 2013, 2 vols (previous editions in Innis Bookstacks). Subscription Cancelled.

open accessFinancial and Taxation Statistics for Enterprises (Statistics Canada) - PublicationCANSIM table 180-0003, 1999 to current
Contains annual aggregate data of Canadian enterprises classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). The data include: asset, liability and equity items encompassed in a balance sheet, revenue and expense items as reported on an income statement, a reconciliation of net profit to taxable income and taxes payable, along with several common financial performance ratios.

Best Bet!open accessFinancial Performance Data (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada), current 
Provides access to more than 1000 industries across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks to help small and medium sized businesses determine how they measure up to their competitors. Includes net profits and net losses, and detailed financial data on revenues and expenses, industry average's for income statements and balance sheet items as well as financial ratios.

McMaster Users OnlyFinancial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business (FPICB), 1994 to 2011. Provides typical balance sheet and financial ratio data for Canadian companies according to operating revenue, industry (NAICS code) and geography (i.e., national or provincial). Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS (1st floor)(1994-2011) & INNIS Library (2001-2009 only) [Click on Start > Programs > Financial Performance Indicators ...]
NOTE: This resource has been discontinued. The last edition was published in 2013.

McMaster Users OnlyMergent Online
Contains information on approximately 4,000 Canadian companies. Search by company name or by U.S. SIC or NAICS. 

Scott's Directories, 7 vols.
Directory of Canadian companies by name, location and Canadian NAICS code. Primarily includes manufacturing and wholesale companies.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223 .S?? 2014 [call number varies by volume] (previous editions in INNIS and MILLS Bookstacks) Subscription Cancelled.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyFactiva, dates vary by publication
Contains approx. 1,000 full-text newspapers from 87 countries in 22 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to Canadian publications. Includes full-text articles from the Globe & Mail, National Post, Toronto Star & Hamilton SpectatorNOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later or try LexisNexis and CBCA. 

McMaster Users OnlyLexisNexis Academic, dates vary by publication
Includes over 300 full-text newspapers from around the world. At the initial search screen,click on Search by Subject or Topic (top right, above Enter Search Terms box) > go to the News menu > select All News. The phrase All News Search should now appear near the search box on the main page. Type your search terms in the box and/or use the Advanced Options to limit your search by date, source, segment/field, etc.

open accessQuarterly Survey of Financial Statements (Statistics Canada) Publication & CANSIM tables 187-0001 and 187-0002, 1988 to current
Presents quarterly balance sheet, income statement and statement of changes in financial position and ratio data by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).

McMaster Users OnlyThomson ONE
Thomson ONE contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokers and independent research firms.


Economy & Industry

McMaster Users OnlyAssociations Canada via Canada's Information Resource Centre (current)
Identifies Canadian trade association web sites that can contain statistics, trends, legal and regulatory information on an industry.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HS 17 .A88 20016 (previous editions in MILLS and THODE libraries)

McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Monitor International
View Industry Surveys (e.g., Telecommunications, Energy, Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Transport, etc.), forecasts and risk ratings for Canada.

open accessBusiness Plans Index (Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh)
Contains sample business plans for a variety of industries.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Source Complete
Find Canadian industry reports by clicking on INDUSTRY PROFILES on the Basic or Advanced Search screen. Click on the COUNTRY tab and select CANADA to view the reports relevant to Canada.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyCanadian Business Patterns (CBP) via ODESI, 1988 to current 
Provides counts of business establishments in Canada by geography (by country, by province, by census division, by census metropolitan area)  industry (e.g., NAICS 2 to 6 digits) and employment size ranges. 
Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor) and INNIS Library (years 1997 to 2011 only)[Click on Start>Programs>Canadian Business Patterns]

Canadian Communications Pocket Book (formerly Canadian Marketing Pocket Book)
Covers many aspects of everyday life in Canada, from population to consumption trends in retail, advertising and media statistics.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5415.12.C35C336 2003, 2004 and 2006/07

Best Bet!open accessCANSIM (updated daily) (Statistics Canada)
Contains industry related statistics which may help with industry size/sales over time.

To browse for statistics/tables in CANSIM:
• In CANSIM browse by subject or survey on the introductory search screen
• Select your industry type (e.g., Manufacturing)
• Click on an industry from the listing displayed (e.g., Manufacturing industries)
• Review the tables listed and select the ones that fit your industry
• Create customized tables/graphs by selecting variables from the menus displayed

To search for statistics/tables in CANSIM :
• Search for word(s) that best describe your industry or type in a CANSIM table number like the ones noted below.
• Review the tables retrieved and select the ones that fit your industry
• Create customized tables/graphs by selecting variables from the menus displayed.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyConference Board of Canada e-Library
Contains several current Canadian industry reports. Industries covered include: retail trade, paper products, auto parts, IT & communications, wood products, tourism, and food. Search by keywords or Browse by Topic > Industry Sector Economics. Also contains economic profiles of Canada, the provinces and approximately 22 Canadian cities, including Hamilton and Toronto.

open accessThe Daily (Statistics Canada) 
This is Statistics Canada's official release bulletin, the Agency's first line of communication with the media and the public. The Daily issues news releases on current social and economic conditions and announces new products." Search the archive to identify publications and CANSIM tables relevant to your topic.

McMaster Users OnlyEncyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (2008)
Provides information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product, the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Emphasizes manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, automobiles, appliances, business equipment, home furnishing and sporting goods. U.S. emphasis.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyIBISWorld
Contains over 1,000 U.S., 425 Canadian and 73 global industry reports, many covering very specialized industries.

McMaster Users OnlyIndex of Business Confidence via Conference Board of Canada e-Library
This quarterly survey poses ten qualitative questions regarding the business climate and investment intentions to senior officers of approximately 2,000 Canadian business organizations. Search or browse this publication by title.

open accessInnovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (formerly Industry Canada)
Includes company and industry statistics, reports, etc.

Industry Classification Codes
Directories and databases often arrange company information by industry classification codes (hierarchical numbers assigned to companies engaged in the same activity). Two classification codes are currently in use in Canada: the older Standard Industrial Classification System (SIC codes) and the newer North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). 

open accessInformation by Industrial Category (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)
Contains industry-specific analysis and information on Canadian business.

McMaster Users OnlyKey Business Ratios on the Web, 2004 to current
Provides a set of business ratios, measured as relationships between companies' balance sheet and income statement categories, across industries by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code. Canadian content.

open accessKey Small Business Statistics (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)
Includes a variety of statistics on small business including the number of businesses in Canada, number of employees, survival rates, e-business usage and contribution to GDP.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyMarketResearch.com Academic
Contains hundreds of market research reports, some covering Canada. Small, niche markets are often covered.

McMaster Users OnlyMergent Industry Reports via Factiva
Includes North American industry reports which cover the U.S. and Canadian markets separately. The reports typically include a description of the current market environment, an industry profile, an analytical look at market trends, key points and references. Limit results to North America (using the Regions filter) and/or use the Modify Search button to add your own keyword(s).  

  • To find Mergent Industry Reports within Factiva:  
    • search and select Mergent Industry Reports from the Source menu
    • in the search box, type in the keyword(s) of your industry with the phrase "north america"
    • click Search
    • browse the results for reports with North America in the title. Canadian content should be included in the body of the report
    • click here to view screenshots of a sample search for a Mergent Industry Report

open accessOntario Provincial Highways Traffic Volumes (1988 to 2013) (Ministry of Transportation)

open accessOntario Industries (Invest in Ontario)
Includes brief profiles of  industry sectors in Ontario. Sectors covered include aerospace, automotive, chemical and biochemical, financial services, food and beverage manufacturing, industrial automation and robotics, information technology, life sciences, mining, tourism, and water technology.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyPassport
Includes market research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Statistics for cities worldwide (such as Hamilton and Toronto) are also included. Search by keyword(s) or browse categories in drop-down menu.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Contains profiles for over 50 industries in the U.S. Content may still be applicable to the Canadian environment.
Location: MILLS 3rd floor HG 4915.S65Subscription cancelled.

open accessWinspear Canadian Industry Database (University of Alberta Libraries)
Identifies publications and websites that cover Canadian industry information.


Consumers & Demographics 

McMaster Users OnlyAmerican Time Use: Who Spends How Long At What via ProQuest Entrepreneurship
Location of Print: MILLS Bookstacks HD 69 .T54A46 2010

open accessAnnual Demographic Estimates: Canada, Provinces and Territories (Statistics Canada)
Presents annual estimates of population for Canada, provinces and territories as well as estimates of the following components of population change: births, deaths, immigration, emigration, returning emigration, net temporary emigration, net non-permanent residents and inter-provincial migration, the latter by origin and destination.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyBest customers : demographics of consumer demand (2011) via ProQuest Entrepreneurship
Identifies who the best customers are for selected products and services. U.S. focus. 
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HC 79 .C6R87 2010 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)

Best Bet!open accessCanadian Census 2011 (Statistics Canada) - includes:

  • Population and Dwelling Counts
  • Age and Sex
  • Families, Households and Marital Status
  • Structural Type of Dwelling and Collectives
  • Language
  • open accessCensus Profiles (retrieves the above variables by place name, postal code, or geographic code).
    NOTE: Also check the open accessNational Household Survey (NHS) data for a more comprehensive view of a given geographical area. NHS includes data on immigration & ethnocultural diversity; aboriginal peoples; education & labour; mobility & migration; language of work; income & housing.

open accessCanadian Census Profiles 2011 by FSA (Forward Sortation Area) (Statistics Canada)
Retrieve the latest census data by FSA (forward sortation area) - the first three characters of a postal code. Select a relevant link on the page > View latest issue > select postal code and data variable from drop-down menus displayed.
open accessCanadian Census Profiles 2006 by FSA (Forward Sortation Area)
Select your postal code from the drop-down menu to view 2006 data for that area.
Not sure of your FSA? Consult the open accessFSA Maps  from Canada Post [1. In the Delivery Area Counts & Maps window select Get Started.  2. Click on a date then select Continue. 3. Pick a location from the Sites and Routes column. 4. Click on the Map icon to see the FSA map for that area.] The site contains maps of postal code boundaries in Canada. 
NOTE:
 If you need census data by FSA before 2006, please contact Vivek Jadon, (jadonvs@mcmaster.ca, 905-525-9140 ext. 23848) Library Data Service Specialist in MILLS Library (1st floor).

open accessCanadian Social Trends (Statistics Canada)
Publication discusses the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians. It contains the latest figures for major social indicators. Look for articles by year or by subject.
Location of Print: MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS11-C008 (1986 to 2012)
NOTE: Statistics Canada has discontinued this publication. 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyConsumer Lifestyles in Canada via Passport
Once connected, click on CONSUMERS (across top of screen) > choose LIFESTYLES from the menu. In the ANALYSIS FINDER section,  select CONTENT > CONSUMER LIFESTYLES and CANADA from the drop-down menus. The lifestyle reports include analysis of household profiles, income, education, eating and drinking habits, shopping habits, leisure and tourism.

McMaster Users OnlyEncyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (2008) via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Use the Table of Contents OR Index of this e-book to find an industry profile. Profiles typically include sections on Key Users and Target Markets & Segmentation. U.S. focus.

Best Bet!FP Markets - Canadian Demographics
Provides basic statistics on Canadian population, households, incomes and retail sales projections at the federal, provincial and city level.
Location: INNIS Reference HC 111.S96 2012 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks) 
NOTE: This title has ceased publication.

McMaster Users OnlyIndex of Consumer Confidence via Conference Board of Canada e-Library
A monthly index constructed from responses to four attitudinal questions posed to a random sample of Canadian households. Search or browse by title.

McMaster Users OnlyMajor Canadian Cites: Compared & Ranked (current) via Canada's Information Resource Centre
A statistical resource that provides comparison and analysis of 50 major cities across Canada - including Hamilton. Covers demographics, housing, labour, ethnicity, immigration & language, income & transportation. 

open accessMarket Research Handbook (Statistics Canada)
Includes labour force, income, consumer expenditures, housing, etc.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HC 111.A19 (2008) & MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS 63 -C224 (1975 to 2008)
NOTE: This publication has been discontinued as of 2008.

McMaster Users OnlyMarketResearch.com Academic
Contains several market research reports related to demographics. Content primarily American.

open accessNational Household Survey (NHS) 2011 (Statistics Canada)
NHS data topics include: immigration and ethnocultural diversity; aboriginal peoples; education and labour; mobility and migration; language of work; income and housing. This data is presented for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas/census agglomerations, census divisions, census subdivisions and federal electoral districts. 2011 Census data is provided alongside the NHS data for a more comprehensive view of a given geographical area. Search NHS by topic, by geography, and other categories.

open accessNational Household Survey (NHS) 2011 by FSA (Forward Sortation Area) (Statistics Canada)
Retrieve the latest NHS data by FSA (forward sortation area) - the first three characters of a postal code. Download the file named EO1976_ID579862.ivt. To view NHS data by FSA on non-library computers, you must download and install Beyond 20/20 software. A free download (for Windows) is available at the Statistics Canada website. Not sure of your FSA? Consult the FSA Maps  from Canada Post (click the M icon). The site contains maps of postal code boundaries in Canada. 
Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor)

open accessOntario Provincial Highways Traffic Volumes (1988 to 2013) (Ministry of Transportation)

open accessPRIZM Lifestyle Lookup by Canadian Postal Code (Environics Analytics)
Input a Canadian postal code to retrieve a lifestyle description for that neighbourhood.
NOTE: This data is free to the general public. The Library does not subscribe to any Environics data or services.

open accessSpending Patterns in Canada (1997-2010)  (Statistics Canada)
Presents statistical highlights and key tables from the Survey of Household Spending (SHS). The publication also includes analytical text, summary-level tables, a detailed table, notes and definitions, and information about survey methodology and data quality.
NOTE: This publication has been discontinued. See Survey of Household Spending via CANSIM (below) for current data.

open accessSurvey of Household Spending via CANSIM (1997 to current) (Statistics Canada)
This annual survey collects information about expenditures by households and families in Canada on a wide variety of goods and services, as well as their dwelling characteristics and possession of household equipment such as appliances, audio and video equipment, and vehicles. NOTE: Search for CANSIM tables: 203-0001...203-0031.

open accessStatistics Canada
View Summary Tables from the Statistics Canada web site to access FREE, but basic statistics.

open accessTrend Briefings (trendwatching.com), 2002 to current
Monthly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide.


Advertising & Marketing

Big Book Source Guide (Marketing magazine)
Directory for marketing, advertising, printing, communications and production services in Canada. 
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HF 5415.12 .C35B54 2010

open accessCARDonline
A comprehensive guide to advertising sources in Canada. Search by topical and/or geographical keywords. Entries typically include source name, media category, year established, subscription cost, brief profile/description. NOTE: The Library does not subscribe to this database. Advertising rates and other information are only available to subscribers. 
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HF 5801 .C35 2010 (old print issue includes rates for selected media)

Ethnic Media and Markets
Provides advertising rates for radio, television and print media targeted at various ethnocultural populations in Canada.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5808.C2E86 2006

McMaster Users OnlyMarketing Facts 2011 & 2013 editions  (Canadian Marketing Association)
A compendium of marketing related statistics and information from over 38 reputable and well-known sources including Environics Analytics, Leger and NADbank.
Location of Print: HF 5415 .C2M36 2008

open accessMedia Digest (2015/2016)
Provides general information on the Canadian media market. Includes readership, listenership and viewership figures.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HF 5808.C2C3 2014/2015 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)

National List of Advertisers
Canadian focus, contains information on national advertisers, government contacts, brand names, advertising agencies, etc.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5808 .C2 N3 2009 


Local Issues & News

open access211Ontario.ca
Identifies community, social, health and related services offered by Ontario non-profits, community agencies and governments.

open accessAssociation of Municipalites Ontario (AMO)
Represents issues affecting over 400 municipalities/cities in Ontario. Use the toolbar on the Advocacy page to see discussion papers, backgrounders, reports, case studies and other publications on a variety of issues over the past 10 years.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyFactiva, dates vary by publication
Contains approx. 1,000 full-text newspapers from 87 countries in 22 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to Canadian publications. Includes full-text articles from the Globe & Mail, National Post, Toronto Star & Hamilton SpectatorNOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later or try LexisNexis and CBCA. 

McMaster Users OnlyLexisNexis Academic , dates vary by publication
Includes over 300 full-text newspapers from around the world. At the initial search screen,click on Search by Subject or Topic (top right, above Enter Search Terms box) > go to the News menu > select All News. The phrase All News Search should now appear near the search box on the main page. Type your search terms in the box and/or use the Advanced Options to limit your search by date, source, segment/field, etc.


Hamilton Area Resources

Best Bet!open accessCommunity (Census) and National Household Survey (NHS) 2011 Profile for Hamilton (City)
open accessCommunity (Census) Profiles 2006 - Hamilton (City) (Statistics Canada)
Contains 2006 and 2011 census data highlights for the city of Hamilton.

open accessDemographic & Statistics (Hamilton Economic Development)
Includes City of Hamilton ward profiles, Downtown Hamilton profile and more.

open accessHamilton Business Directory
Contains approximately 18,000 local business profiles. Search by company or browse by industry code (i.e., NAICS)

open accessHamilton Economic Development Publications
Includes annual economic development reviews, sector profiles, strategic reports, plans & studies.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyHamilton Spectator via LexisNexis (1991 to present) or Factiva (1986 to the present).
Full-text articles from the Hamilton Spectator. Search for the publication name in the Source directory of each database.

Some Hamilton Spectator articles related to the 2011 Census:

This link includes the following three articles related to population in the Hamilton area.

  • February 10, 2012: Immigration - by the numbers
  • February 9, 2012: Hamilton by the numbers; What drove Hamilton's growth
  • February 9, 2012: Population growth slow and steady but still good

This link includes the following five articles related to age in the Hamilton area.

  • May 31, 2012: Census show dramatic change is coming
  • May 30, 2012: Burlington Neighbourhoods the most youthful
  • May 30, 2012: East Hamilton pocket big draw for older adults
  • May 30, 2012: Canada's wee baby boom
  • May 30, 2012: Going Grey; Latest Census Findings show Hamilton has a higher than average population of seniors - a call to action for health care officials
  • May 29, 2012: CENSUS: Hamilton, you're getting older (thespec.com)

This following articles are related to marriages and families in the Hamilton area.

Some Hamilton Spectator articles related to the 2006 Census:

open accessLandscapes of Retail Activity in Hamilton - Resource Listing

open accessNeighbourhood Association Directory (City of Hamilton - Planning & Economic Development)

open accessSocial Planning & Research Council of Hamilton
This non-profit organization helps community groups and organizations in the Hamilton area. Their publications typically cover poverty, homelessness and issues related to families and children.  Recent  community profiles of Ancaster, Dundas, Hamilton, Stoney Creek and the surrounding communities are also available.

open accessTables by Metropolitan Area: Hamilton (Statistics Canada)

open accessVital Signs: A Citizen's Report on the Quality of Life in Hamilton (Hamilton Community Foundation and the Social Planning & Research Council of Hamilton)

Vernon's Business Sources. Hamilton & Niagara area edition for selected communities
A directory organized alphabetically by company name or by SIC code. Standard contact information provided.
Location: MILLS Bookstacks HF 5072.H3V4 [1992-2007]

Last Reviewed: January 17, 2017