Databases starting with W

12 databases found for: History X
Coverage:
1889 to the present | Recent covers January 1, 2008 to 3 months ago | Historical covers July 8, 1889 to 17 years ago

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Coverage:
1877 to the present | Recent covers January 1, 2008 to 3 months ago | Historical covers December 6, 1877 to 17 years ago

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Coverage:
Varies by database

The Web of Science platform provides access to the following products and databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.

Coverage:
Varies: 1995 onwards for many titles; includes backfiles for former Blackwell titles

Provides full-text articles from more than 1,600 journals and 1000s of books in a wide range of subjects.

Coverage:
1820 to the present

Covers prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. Includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

Coverage:
1600-2000

Gives access to more than 2,400 primary documents, as well as books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women

Coverage:
1840 to the present

Includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century. It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements. The collection provides insight into how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.

Coverage:
1846-2005

Provides archival runs of leading women’s consumer magazines dating from the late 19th through to the 21st century, documenting evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Includes titles such as Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping and Seventeen. All content, including advertisements, is fully searchable. 

Coverage:
1910 to 6 months ago

Includes high-resolution images of the pages, articles, advertisements, and covers of Women's Wear Daily, along  with searchable text and indexing. This trade publication is one of the fashion industry's most influential reads covering key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers. Subject coverage includes retail business, fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, marketing and advertising.

Coverage:
1901-1969

Digitized from originals held by McMaster University Library's Research Collections.  This collection contains uncatalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle.  The pamphlets are global in scope, although they are all in English unless otherwise noted.  The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.

Coverage:
1800 to 1922; varies by title

Provides three collections of nineteenth and early twentieth-century  newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and Southeast Asia.  This primary sources collection facilitates the study of regional history, including colonialization.

Coverage:
Before 1000 BC to the present

WorldCat is the world's largest library catalogue, merging the holdings of over 72,000 institutions worldwide. Includes records for books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. McMaster's holdings will be listed first. Items not in our library can be requested via Interlibrary Loans.

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email