Databases starting with U
McMaster has access to several modules within the U.K. Parliamentary Papers database including the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 18th Century (also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books), House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, Public Petitions to Parliament and Hansard.
Contains information about almost 2 million physical features and populated places in the United States. The database is maintained by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) in cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographical Names. A search will return feature type, elevation, estimated population, county and latitude/longitude. Can delimit search by feature type, population range, elevation or map name. Can display location on a national map, and also identify the local watershed. Includes links to other name sources for foreign (non-US) countries and Antarctica.
Reproduced from originals at the U.S. National Archives, this primary sources publication provides a wealth of unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, the Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews. The collection consists of telegrams, despatches, reports, and letters between Myron Taylor (the president's representative to the Vatican) and his staff, the State Department, other U.S. government agencies, the Vatican, and the Italian government. There are materials on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. In addition, there are materials on Axis diplomats, war criminals, protocols and religious statements, and records of the peace efforts of the Vatican.
Contains bibliographic descriptions and ordering information for approximately 300,000 periodicals (also known as serials) including scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Information includes:
- publisher, country of publication, format, whether active or ceased, start year, frequency
- document type, e.g., academic/scholarly, consumer magazine, etc.
- whether refereed/peer reviewed
- abstracting & indexing coverage
- full-text database coverage
Provides a single entry point to a range of UN statistical databases. The datasets cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
Volume I covers major works from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s and continuing through to modern sequential artists. The collection contextualizes these original works with 25,000 pages of interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal.
Volume II expands on Volume I by providing an additional 100,000 pages of important, rare, and hard-to-find works, scholarly writings, and more. Volume II adds extensive coverage of the pre-Comics Code era horror, crime, romance, and war comics that fueled the backlash leading to one of the largest censorship campaigns in US history. It also contains tens of thousands of pages of non-mainstream, post-code comics and secondary materials from around the world, including the US, Canada, France, Italy, Spain, England, Sweden, Norway, Australia, Korea, Japan, and more.
A comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. Topics include: Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, Women and Gender Issues.
Searchable, full-text database from January 1, 1976 onward (full-page images since 1790). To view and print patents in PDF for free, a viewer software needs to be installed. It is available from http://www.uspto.gov/web/menu/plugins/index.html. Select TIFF - Tagged Image File Format (used for Patent images) - click on Free and following instruction. Once downloaded, you can view patents in PDF by clicking on Images when viewing a patent. Patents can only be printed one page at a time with the free plugin software.
NOTE: Available to McMaster students, faculty, and staff on-campus only.
The current situation surrounding COVID-19 has created significant stress for clinicians working in environments that are unfamiliar and changing rapidly. UpToDate is offering free access to its Clinical Effectiveness COVID-19 Resources.
Quick look-up for diagnosis, clinical, point of care information. Email search results to yourself.