Databases starting with S

7 databases found for: Materials Science and Engineering X

Contains over 50 million articles from over 23,000 full text journals covering many disciplines.

Coverage:
1976 to the present

A multi-disciplinary science database that indexes over 6,000 journals from a variety of science disciplines. Database offers searching by topic, author, address, journal title, etc. and a Cited Reference search. Full text links are available for journals to which McMaster subscribes through the getit! link.

Includes access to the EndNote web citation manager (see link at top of  Web of Science screen). Accounts must initially be created from within the McMaster IP range.

Coverage:
Varies by title

Provides online access to over 4,000 journals and 29,000 books published by Elsevier. Strong collections in the social sciences, pure and applied sciences, engineering, and medicine.  This service allows you to browse or search the journals and access full text articles (PDF & HTML).  McMaster has access to many, but not all titles at this site. 

Coverage:
Varies by database (see description below)

SciFinder by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) enables users to search online the Chemical Abstracts family of databases. SciFinder is searchable by chemical structure, chemical name, CAS Registry Number, molecular formula, chemical reaction, research topic, author name, specific reference (abstract number or patent number),company name/organization and table of contents of selected journals.

The following databases are available through SciFinder: CA Plus - an enhanced version of Chemical Abstracts, 1907 to present;  CAS Registry - a database of chemical structures and names indexed by CAS from 1957 to present; CASREACT - includes records of single and multistep chemical reactions from the Organic and Organometallic sections of Chemical Abstracts from journals (1985 to present) and patents (1991 to present); CHEMCATS - database of commercial suppliers for chemical compounds, 1996-2001 catalogs and chemical libraries; CHEMLIST - regulatory information records from 1979 to present; MEDLINE - medical database with coverage from 1958 to present

New

Scopus provides broad indexing and citation coverage of academic journals, books and conference proceedings published worldwide. Delivering a comprehensive overview ofresearch output in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Coverage:
1962 to the present

The most extensive database available on optics and photonics research, with more than 375,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging.  Our subscription includes conference proceedings from 1962 onwards, full-text for 10 journals, and some 200 e-books.

Some Proceedings volumes are not available online, either because they were not published, or because SPIE does not have the electronic rights. 

Coverage:
e-Books, 2005 to the present (with some exclusions) | Selected series, 1997 to the present

Covers subjects in the areas of behavioral sciences, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & material science, computer science, earth & environmental sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, medicine, and physics & astronomy.