Databases

Contains information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, pulled from over 750 handbooks, encyclopedias, and journal articles. Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.

Learn about research methods and research design through stories from researchers in the field and their critique of their own research articles.

Learn to master quantitative and qualitative data analysis with step-by-step guides and sample data.

Read bite-sized introductions to hundreds of research concepts and methods written by global experts.

Watch cutting-edge nursing streaming videos that support teaching, learning, and research at all levels.

Full-text for over 160,000 e-books from commercial publishers, including titles from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, and the Gibson Canadian publishers collection.  Also includes approximately 400,000 e-books that are open access or public domain titles.

Contains over 50 million articles from over 23,000 full text journals covering many disciplines.

Provides online access to over 4,000 journals and 30,000 books published by Elsevier. Strong collections in the social sciences, pure and applied sciences, engineering, and medicine.  This service allows you to browse or search the journals and access full text articles (PDF & HTML).  McMaster has access to many, but not all titles at this site. 

Includes over 30 full-text reference works and encyclopedias published by Elsevier.

Scopus provides broad indexing and citation coverage of academic journals, books and conference proceedings published worldwide. Delivering a comprehensive overview ofresearch output in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Abstracts and indexes articles from more than 600 periodicals in both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Subjects include anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies.

Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

The premiere database for locating articles in the field of sociology, Sociological Abstracts indexes some 1,800 international serial publications. Related disciplines include social and behavioral sciences, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies.

Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.

Covers subjects in the areas of behavioral sciences, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & material science, computer science, earth & environmental sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, medicine, and physics & astronomy.

A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods for experiments. It is the largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedicine and life sciences, bringing together content from Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Methods Primers and Springer Protocols.

SpringerLINK service offers full-text access to more than 3,000 e-journals (and other content types) covering disciplines in science, technology, health, engineering, environment, economics and law. McMaster has purchased the Springer Historical Archives with back issue coverage from v.1 onwards for most journals.

Comprehensive and regularly updated, providing full access to the entire current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr. Stahl.

Statista includes over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. It also includes market forecasts, dossiers, industry reports, infographics, and more. Statistics can be downloaded directly in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.