Databases
Best Bets for General and Multi-disciplinary
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. Over 600 journal titles in 10 collections are available, including African Journal Archive, Business & Finance, Education, Juta's Law Journals, Labour, Law, Medicine & Health, Religion, Science Technology & Agriculture, and Social Sicences & Humanities.
African government & law plus news resources, also curated by Sabinet, are available on Sabinet Discover.
SAGE Journals has a portfolio that includes more than 1,100 journals, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. McMaster offers access to the full collection.
For open access (OA) publishing considerations, authors affiliated with McMaster can now publish in over 900 SAGE Choice journals with no article processing charges (APCs), and may receive a 40% discount on publication in SAGE’s Gold open access titles, with a small number of titles excluded. Please visit Library Support for Open Access for more information.
Contains information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, pulled from over 750 handbooks, encyclopedias, and journal articles. Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.
Learn about research methods and research design through stories from researchers in the field and their critique of their own research articles.
Learn to master quantitative and qualitative data analysis with step-by-step guides and sample data.
Read bite-sized introductions to hundreds of research concepts and methods written by global experts.
Full-text for over 160,000 e-books from commercial publishers, including titles from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, and the Gibson Canadian publishers collection. Also includes approximately 400,000 e-books that are open access or public domain titles.
Contains over 50 million articles from over 23,000 full text journals covering many disciplines.
scite is a tool which offers a quantitative and qualitative insight into how scientific publications cite each other by using access to full-text articles and its deep learning model to tell you, for a given publication:
- how many times it was cited by others;
- how it was cited by others by displaying the text where the citation happened from each citing paper;
- whether each citation offers supporting or contrasting evidence of the cited claims in the publication of interest, or simply mention it.
Assistant by scite is a new feature (in beta) powered by Generative AI within scite.ai. By adding ChatGPT to scite, Assistant helps users find research-backed information by querying its citation index.
Other features offerd by the Smart Citation database include:
Scopus provides broad indexing and citation coverage of academic journals, books and conference proceedings published worldwide. Delivering a comprehensive overview ofresearch output in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Based at the Allen Institute for AI, Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature, which provides access to over 180 million research publications in all scientific domains. It applies artificial intelligence to extract the meaning from the scientific literature allowing scholars to navigate research much more efficiently than a traditional search engine.
Statista includes over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. It also includes market forecasts, dossiers, industry reports, infographics, and more. Statistics can be downloaded directly in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.
