Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
The collection is comprised of over 100 pamphlets and periodicals from the French Revolution of 1848 held by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).
Provides "bird's-eye" views of nineteenth and early twentieth century cities and towns across the United States and Canada. Each map contains a detailed look at architecture and urban planning of the period, and allows users to zoom in on particular areas.
Includes digitized New Zealand and Pacific newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
An index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia received at the British Library Document Supply Centre.
Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.
Provides full-text scholarly editions of selected philosophers and English literary writers. Works include published and unpublished texts, articles, essays, and correspondence, in both the original language, and, where required, in English translation. Contents include classical works in philosophy, history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history, and German studies.
Free patent search tool that when given a patent number, will return an image of the patent as a single PDF file. NOTE: Easier to use for images than the USPTO (U.S. Patent and Trademark Office) website which requires that a browser plug-in be downloaded.
Includes international and national patent collections. Search 71 million patent documents including 3.4 million published international patent applications (PCT).
Digitized from originals held by McMaster University Library's Research Collections. This primary source collection consists of newspapers and periodicals; broadsides; leaflets; and books and pamphlets and other documents produced by or relating to the underground resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy.
PEDro has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for over 180 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2007. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most Penn World Table countries at the GDP level.
Major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically. PAO contains over 500 journals comprising more than 3 million articles and 15 million article pages. McMaster's subscription includes PAO collections 1-6.
Interactive database linking texts and translations of major works covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Contains more than 21,000 diagrams for non-organic systems, including those published in all 21 hard-copy volumes produced as part of the ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Program (formerly titled Phase Diagrams for Ceramists). The database additionally contains over 1,200 new phase diagrams labeled as “Volume 15” that are only available in electronic format.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.. Subject coverage includes aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy and social philosophy. Geographic coverage is global with publications coming from more than 135 countries. Includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902.
Full-text access to 51 Philosophy journals including Augustinian Studies, Canadian Journal of Philosophy, Dialogue, Idealistic Studies, International Philosophical Quarterly, Journal of Philosophical Research, Leibniz Review, The Monist, New Nietzsche Studies, The Owl of Minerva, Philosophical Topics, Philosophiques, Philosophy and Phenomenological Research, Proceedings of the American Catholic Philosophical Association, Radical Philosophy Today, Review of Metaphysics, Southern Journal of Philosophpy, Teaching Philosophy and Theoria.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, PhilPapers monitors many sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
This unique group of 4,700 photographs records a broad range of artists working in the United States during the first three quarters of the twentieth century. Created by the fine art photography firm Peter A. Juley & Son (active 1896-1975). Highlights of the collection include portraits of Thomas Hart Benton, Selma Burke, Alexander Calder, Edward Hopper, Frida Kahlo, Yasuo Kuniyoshi, Jacob Lawrence, Barnett Newman, Diego Rivera and Augustus Saint-Gaudens. Many of the images show artists in their studios or at home with their families and offer interesting glimpses into the artistic and social climate in which they worked. The collection also contains hundreds of group photographs documenting activities at the National Academy of Design and Art Students League in New York City as well as the summer art colonies at Provincetown, Old Lyme, Woodstock, and Ogunquit.
The PILOTS bibliographic database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Provides the text of over 170 plays originally published by Playwrights Canada Press after 1984. While located in Ontario, the Press is proud of its list of published playwrights that stretches from Newfoundland to British Columbia and the Yukon. Playwrights Canada Press also publishes French plays by Canadian authors in English translation, and includes theatre for young audiences.
Covers hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. Topics include comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and more. It also includes thousands of full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
Collection of primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. Topics covered include the administration of refugee camps across Europe including England, Germany, Italy, Hungary and Yugoslavia; displaced Persons Assembly Centre reports; Jewish Relief Unit field reports; British Military Government in Germany; Belsen DP Camp; Maclean Mission in Italy; Politics of the Refugee Crisis; and, strengthening of the Zionist cause.
Sources include surveys, leaflets, photographs, reports of relief workers, US zone reports, War office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations.
An index of conference publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Provides an overview of the event's activities by listing the papers presented.
A collection of over 670 full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Individual journal titles are accessible through the e-journal A-Z and the library catalogue.
Cross-search over 30 indexing, abstracting, and full-text databases in a range of subjects.
Browse full-image issues of the following newspapers: Montreal Gazette, National Post, Toronto Star and Vancouver Sun.
Indexes over 4 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at colleges and universities worldwide.
Simultaneously search the following four newspapers: The Globe and Mail, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Provides full-text articles for 140 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for future subscription.