Databases
Best Bets for Religious Studies
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
Provides full-text scholarly editions of selected philosophers and English literary writers. Works include published and unpublished texts, articles, essays, and correspondence, in both the original language, and, where required, in English translation. Contents include classical works in philosophy, history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history, and German studies.
Major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically. PAO contains over 700 journals spanning more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. McMaster's subscription includes PAO collections 1-10.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, PhilPapers monitors many sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Cross-search over 50 indexing, abstracting, and full-text databases in a range of subjects.
Indexes over 4 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at colleges and universities worldwide.
Contains thousands of full-text e-books across a variety of disciplines. To display titles accessible to McMaster users, use the "Book Status" filter and select "Owned and subscribed to by my library."
Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue and in the standard ProQuest databases platform.
