Databases starting with O

27 databases found

ODESI is a web-based data exploration, extraction, and analysis tool. It contains over 5,200 datasets for the social sciences, with more than 17,300 additional dataset descriptions available for searching. Emphasis is on Canadian data.

The Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) online library of books, reports, working papers, periodicals and statistical data covering a wide range of subjects including agriculture & food, development, economics, education, employment, energy, environment, finance & investment, governance, industry & services,  social issues, migration & health, taxation and transport.  Search by keyword(s) or browse by theme or by country name.

The OECD iLibrary provides online access to all books published by the OECD, including those of the International Energy Agency, the Nuclear Energy Agency, and the European Conference of Ministers of Transport. Currently, between 150 and 200 books are published each year. The subscription includes access to publications going back to 1998.

Coverage:
1991-current

OECD Health Data was developed jointly by the OECD and IRDES since 1991 and offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.

OECD (including NEA and IEA) publishes fourteen journals and newsletters, and ten statistical periodicals. Each is available in printed form and online.

Coverage:
1998 to the present, although some databases provide data as far back as 1960

The OECD iLibrary is the full-text online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. McMaster University Libraries subscribe to all three components of the iLibrary - Books, Periodicals and Statistics. Contains international publications and statistics on a wide variety of subjects including agriculture, business, development, economics, education, employment, finance, investment, migration, science, technology, telecommunications and trade. The statistical databases allow you to build your own tables and have them exported to Excel, Beyond 20/20 and other formats.

Coverage:
1970s to the present

Database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies, with content from over 450 journals. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Old Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association.

An online catalogue of human genes and genetic disorders. It is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain links to other genetics resources.

A guide to languages, alphabets, syllabaries and other writing systems. Also contains details of many of the languages written with those writing systems and links to a wide range of language-related resources, such as fonts, online dictionaries and online language courses.

Free online dictionary that describes the origins of English-language words.

Coverage:
1985-2005

GEOBIB indexes international literature on all aspects of geography. It includes references to books, articles, atlases, maps, pamphlets and other publications under both topical and regional subjects. Updated in part by Current Geographical Publications. Bibliography covering the period up to 1976 is available in paper format as the Research Catalogue of the American Geographical Society (MILLS Bookstacks ZG 58.A5).

Coverage:
1990s to the present

Indexes over 4 million graduate-level electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) freely available from over 1,100 institutions worldwide.

A  textual database that contains 1960 vernacular texts (22.3 million words, 456,000 unique forms) the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers. The OVI database was created to aid in the compilation of an historical dictionary of the Italian language, the Tesoro della lingua italiana delle origini, (portions of which are now available online). The fully-searchable ItalNet implementation of the OVI database presented here has been produced in order to enable scholars around the world to benefit from this rich textual resource

Oral History Online is a landmark database of English language oral histories. It contains at present more than 30,000 pages of full-text content that is available nowhere else in electronic format, much of which is available nowhere else in any format. This full-text material includes Ellis Island oral history narratives, exclusive Black Panther Party interviews, and other oral histories. With each quarterly update of Oral History Online, the publisher will add more of such proprietary (in-copyright) full-text interviews.

OregonPDF in Health & Performance, a non-profit foundation, cooperates with colleges and universities throughout the world to make available graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance.

The intellectual focus of the collection is physical activity. Academic areas of interest include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements.

The collection has been developed continuously since 1948 by the University of Oregon. There are almost 11,000 dissertations and theses, with a goal of adding between 100 and 150 each year.

An introductory hypertext for undergraduate students and those wanting to review concepts in organometallic chemistry. 

Orlando documents the part women have played in the development of literature and includes biographical and writing career entries on over 1,200 writers, more than eight hundred and fifty of them British women. It also includes selected non-British or international women writers, and British and international men, whose writing was an important, sometimes a shaping, element in a particular writing climate. Entries are contextualized with thirty thousand dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts).

Provides orthopaedic-only evidence-based summaries, pre-appraised by orthopaedic medical experts. It utilizes a multi-step process to review, evaluate and summarize research studies, while including critical implications in its Advanced Clinical Evidence (ACE) Report.

Makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies.  Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.

Our Roots is a library, archive, museum and school all in one. Check the collection to find Canadian local histories in French and English. Check Educational Resources for learning packages for students and teachers.

Coverage:
1885-1990s

Contains more than 16,000 images of outdoor advertisements (i.e., billboards, shelter ads, wall murals, posters, etc.) and other scenes from the Outdoor Advertising Association of America. Browse or search the collection by company name, product, date, place of coverage, subject, tone and medium.

Coverage:
Varies by database

Cross-search over 10 databases on the Ovid platform including MEDLINE, Embase, HAPI and PsycINFO.

A collection of 55,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. The Oxford DNB replaces and extends the original Victorian DNB, and includes: re-written biographies of all subjects included in the Victorian DNB, reflecting new research, and providing an up-to-date assessment of their lives 16,500 biographies of new subjects from all periods. For checking facts, learning about people involved in a historical event or associated with a place, or undertaking new research into any aspect of the British past. Entries offer detailed and extensive biographical information drawn from primary and secondary sources and range from a few dozen to 35,000 words in length. With more than 10,000 illustrations, researched in partnership with the National Portrait Gallery, London, the Oxford DNB is also the largest selection of national portraiture ever published.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

1

Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, the OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. It includes present-day meanings, along with the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

New

Provides in-depth introductions to topics, with scholarly review articles that summarize current thinking in the field. McMaster has access to three subjects: Philosophy, Political Science and Psychology. Individual volumes are also available via the library catalogue.

Gateway to music research and access point for new and forthcoming Oxford music reference subscriptions and products. Currently allows cross-searching of: 

  • Grove Music Online
    • New Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (2013)
    • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001)
    • New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992)
    • New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002)
    • The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (2014)
  • Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. rev, Michael Kennedy, ed., Joyce Bourne, assoc. ed.
  • Oxford Companion to Music, Alison Latham, ed. 
Number of Simultaneous Users:

3

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email