Databases
Best Bets for General and Multi-disciplinary
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
A cooperative catalogue of the film and video collections of Ontario university libraries. Faculty may request the loan of films for classroom use. The Interfilm Policy requires that McMaster place an order with other institutions at least 10 working days before the show date. Typical loan periods are for 2-3 days only.
Provides digital access ( full color page-image format) to the backfiles of the following six major US and UK men’s-interest consumer magazines covering contemporary issues and trends in history and society, masculinity, sex roles, literature, sports, fashion, popular culture, entertainment, and more.
- All Sports Illustrated Weekly (1919 to 1930)
- Argosy (1882 to 1978)
- Esquire [UK edition] (1991 to 2015)
- M: The Civilized Man (1983 to 1992)
- National Police Gazette (1845 to 1977)
- Sports Budget (1923 to 1939)
Coverage is from issue 1 through to 2015 (or the publication ceased date), with issues scanned from cover to cover, although there will be some coverage gaps (issues / pages).
The content in this database is sourced from newspapers, journals, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in the Middle East and North Africa as well as other nations with regional political, economic, and security interests. In addition to local and international news, it also includes government-level analysis and commentary. The database covers many topical categories, including the Israeli-Arab conflict, human and civil rights, international relations, terrorism, and others.
