Databases starting with K
McMaster's subscription to Kanopy provides online access to over 4,000 documentary films from a range of major producers, including PBS, California Newsreel, Kino Lober, Documentary Educational Resources, and many more. Videos can be integrated with Avenue to Learn and accessed remotely by students. The majority of the videos are closed captioned, and clip-making is allowed. Transcripts are also available by clicking on the 'More' tab.
Full screen mode and playback speeds can be adjusted upon clicking the "Play" button of the video.
To access additional features such as creating a Clip/Playlist, Adding comments or sharing via social media, a personal login (eg. Google) is recommended.
Further information is available at the Kanopy Help page
Provides industry benchmarking data compiled from Dun & Bradstreet’s database of public and private companies. Features 14 key business ratios (one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of businesses.
Provides full-text access to key accounting manuals such as the CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (formerly known as the CICA Handbook) & Interntional Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS).
NOTE: McMaster subscribes to only two of Knovel's subject collections. All titles are also listed individually in the library catalogue.
Provides over 800 reference handbooks and fulltext e-books in Civil Engineering & Construction Materials and Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response. Many of the handbooks include "productivity tools" that allow you to manipulate/sort data in tables.