Databases starting with J
Database features thousands of analyst reports, securities research, and worldwide economic,company, product and industry information. Derived from Morgan Markets – which is J.P. Morgan’s exclusive information for key clients and investors – these reports are made available to academic users for education and research purposes. Lengthy reports cover equities and company performance, global and regional economics and financial strategy, foreign exchange, commodities, liquidity, and emerging markets.
Contains Felix Jacoby's monumental collection of Greek historians whose work is preserved incompletely, i.e. in fragments. The New Jacoby (1st and 2nd editions) includes new critical commentary, a brief entry about each historian's life and works, and select bibliographies for further research.
The Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics is a project supported by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). It consists of two parts: A literature database based on the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (1868-1942) and an archive of digitised mathematical publications at the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen.
Includes fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses.
Contains three textbooks:
- Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice
- The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis
- Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience.
Also contains education guides, glossary, calculators, learning tools, custom curriculum, and audio content.
JPO is one of the three main international patent offices (i.e., the United States, Japan and the European Union). The J-PlatPat (Japan Platform for Patent Information) is an official digital library for patents, utility models, designs and trademarks.
This database covers Japanese literary works translated into other languages, mostly after World War II. Searches can be made either in Japanese character or Roman letters.
Digitized from originals held by the Library's Research Collections. David Diamant is the pseudonym of David Erlich, a Jewish communist and committed member of the underground resistance during World War II. This collection consists of original documents collected by Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.
The Guide consists of 226 alphabetically arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Each entry includes numerous cross-references, hyperlinks to related entries, and citations for further reading. This full-text guide can be searched by name, topic or keywords. The print work Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (MILLS Bookstacks PN 81. J554) is related to this online guide
Provides citation data that helps evaluate and compare more than 11,800 scholarly journals in the areas of business, science, technology, and social sciences. Journals can be retrieved by title, subject area/category, country/territory or publisher and sorted by several criteria such as total cites and impact factor.
JoVE Science Education is a revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations.
McMaster has access to the entire library including the following collections:
- ADVANCED BIOLOGY
- BASIC BIOLOGY
- CLINICAL SKILLS
- CORE BIOLOGY
- CORE SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY
- ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES
- LAB MANUAL: BIOLOGY
- LAB MANUAL: CHEMISTRY
JoVE publishes the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity.
The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences. The content and editorial vision of the journal is advanced by JoVE’s Editorial Board and Science Editors. JoVE’s 2018 impact factor is 1.108.
McMaster subscribes to all of the 13 sections, covering the following areas:
- CANCER RESEARCH
- DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY
- IMMUNOLOGY AND INFECTION
JSTOR provides access to a digital archive of journals in the areas of Arts, Business, Economics, and Sciences. JSTOR includes the entire runs of these journals, from the very first issue to the volumes published a few years ago. With a small number of exceptions - the "Current Scholarship" titles - JSTOR is a backfile collection and excludes the most recent issues (as part of the terms of the agreement with the journal publishers).
JSTOR Sustainability is a collection of academic and policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. This thematic database includes 115 journals and over 5,400 research reports from more than 30 international policy institutes.