Databases
Best Bets for Biology
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
Provides citation data that helps evaluate and compare more than 20,000 scholarly journals in the areas of arts, business, humanities, science, technology, and social sciences. Journals can be retrieved by title, keyword(s), category (subject area), publisher, or country and sorted by several criteria such as total citations and impact factor.
JoVE Science Education is a revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations.
McMaster has access to the entire library including the following collections:
- ADVANCED BIOLOGY
- BASIC BIOLOGY
- CHEMISTRY
- CLINICAL SKILLS
- CORE BIOLOGY
- CORE SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY
- ENGINEERING
- ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES
- LAB MANUAL: BIOLOGY
- LAB MANUAL: CHEMISTRY
- PHYSICS
- PSYCHOLOGY
JoVE publishes the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity.
The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences. The content and editorial vision of the journal is advanced by JoVE’s Editorial Board and Science Editors. JoVE’s 2018 impact factor is 1.108.
McMaster subscribes to all of the 13 sections, covering the following areas:
- BEHAVIOR
- BIOCHEMISTRY
- BIOENGINEERING
- BIOLOGY
- CANCER RESEARCH
- CHEMISTRY
- DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY
- ENGINEERING
- ENVIRONMENT
- GENETICS
- IMMUNOLOGY AND INFECTION
- MEDICINE
- NEUROSCIENCE
JSTOR provides access to a digital archive of journals in the areas of Arts, Business, Economics, and Sciences. JSTOR includes the entire runs of these journals, from the very first issue to the volumes published a few years ago. With a small number of exceptions - the "Current Scholarship" titles - JSTOR is a backfile collection and excludes the most recent issues (as part of the terms of the agreement with the journal publishers).
JSTOR Sustainability is a collection of academic and policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. This thematic database includes 115 journals and over 5,400 research reports from more than 30 international policy institutes.
