Databases starting with F

15 databases found

A multi-disciplinary database that provides access to current and archived news, business and company information worldwide. The database contains content from more than 31,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

6

Coverage:
1990's to present, but varies by title; selective coverage back to 50 years prior

Citations to articles in film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.

Covers industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics for film and television. Titles include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, and Variety, as well as technical publications such as SMPTE.

Also covers international film and television publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Cinema in India, Cinemamaya, Filmkultura, Segnocinema, and Kinetoscopio.

Coverage:
1994 to 2013 (includes data from 1992/1994 to 2009/2011)

Contains 15 key financial ratios by industry groupings compiled from the North American Industry Classification System. It is based on reliable and comprehensive data on Canadian businesses, derived from Statistics Canada databases of financial statements for three reference years

Coverage:
Updated weekly

First Consult is an evidence-based clinical information resource for healthcare professionals. Designed for use at point of care, it provides instant, user-friendly access to the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention.

Coverage:
1990s to the present

First Resort is Lancaster House's database for Canadian labour, employment, and human rights law. NOTE: Access is only available on-campus to current McMaster University students, faculty and staff.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

1

Showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the First World War, from personal narratives and printed books to military files, propaganda pamphlets and strong visual documents. Also provides secondary contextual material, including scholarly essays, case studies and interactive maps.

Material is sourced from archives around the world, including McMaster's Archives and Research Collections which contributed hundreds of personal collections, albums, photographs, trench journals, sheet music, visual sources and trench maps, as well as material from the Vera Brittain Archive and Michael Brisebois collections.

Includes:

  • Diaries and journals
  • Letters
  • Personal narratives and reminiscences
  • Trench literature and soldiers’ journals
  • Postcards
  • Scrapbooks and albums
  • Photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects
  • Sketches and paintings
  • Ephemera
  • Sheet music
  • Photographs
  • War art
  • Cartoons and comics
  • Propaganda and recruiting posters
  • Trench maps

Vast collection of folktales, myths, legends, and texts pertaining to folklore, arranged by title and theme, with a focus on northern and western Europe.

 

The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.

 

The FRANTEXT database (formerly the Trésor de la langue française) consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theatre, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.

Coverage:
Current

This web site provides free resources on approximately 650 business and management topics. Each topic page usually includes information on the author, concise overviews of the subject, links to additional resources and recommended books. Useful for students and practitioners interested in personal, professional and organizational development. 

Provides fast, easy-to-use and free access to millions of patents and patent applications.

The ARTFL French Women Writers Project is a searchable database containing works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century. The Women Writers Project currently contains texts by 40 authors. There are 5.1 million words, 98,000 unique forms in 99 documents.

Provides access to the latest U.S. patent applications each week BEFORE the USPTO decision to grant/deny.

Coverage:
1650-1920

This collection of primary source documents captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of settlers and indigenous people living in colonial frontiers of North America, Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand from 1650-1920. More than 20% of the content is Canadian, with over 1,000 documents drawn from the Hudson's Bay Archive and the Glenbow Museum.  

Themed collections bring together documents from 16 archives and libraries from around the world, allowing scholars to take either a comparative approach or focus on a particular region. Topic areas include Agriculture & Livestock, Arts & Entertainment, Business, Trade & Commerce, Children & Family, Exploration, Expeditions & Travel, Government & Politics, Health & Medicine, Indigenous Peoples, Industry & Technology, Land & Property, Law & Order, Natural World, Religion, Warfare & Military History, and Women’s History.

A bi-monthly summary of world literature on all scientific, technical, commercial and environmental aspects of fuel and energy. 

General Databases

New and Trial Databases

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email