Databases
Best Bets for General and Multi-disciplinary
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
Provides access to works printed in Europe before 1701, bringing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. Full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe are included. McMaster has access to Collection 3, 5, 6, 10 and 12 of Early European Books.
Cross-search over 30 indexing, abstracting, and fulltext databases in a range of subjects.
A wide selection of academic full-text e-books from top publishers and presses. Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue.
The eCampusOntario provides educators and learners with access to more than 1,600 free and openly-licensed educational resources. The library was launched in 2017 in partnership with BCcampus. Thanks to the Open Publishing Infrastructure Project, a joint effort between eCampusOntario, and Toronto Metropotitan University, the library is now integrated with publishing infrastructure, allowing for the easy creation or adaption of OER. eCampusOntario has also supported enhancements to the PressbooksEDU platform, including the integration of H5P interactive content, version tracking, and cloning support.
For over 170 years, The Economist has published timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. It covers the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Included in the archive are full-colour images, covers, advertisements, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue from 1843 to 2020.
The most current issues of The Economist are available in print and online via several databases.
EndNote is a citation management tool that moves you through the research process as you search, organize, write, publish, and share your work.
A growing collection of Canadian peer-reviewed journals, primarily published in Quebec. Many journals publish in French, or bilingual French/English articles.
