Databases starting with D
International selection of economic, social and environmental indicators from the World Bank. Website includes over 60 databases providing data on a wide variety of subjects.
A bio-bibliographical database that includes notable Canadian English-language women writers who published before 1950, their audience and genre ranging from travel journalism and scientific writing to poetry and fiction.
DBRS (Dominion Bond Rating Service) is a globally recognized credit rating agency in Canada. The database provides independent, third-party evaluations of corporate and government issues, spanning North America, Europe and Asia.
The two databases present a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical texts and the Non-Biblical texts found at Qumran and other sites, together with high-resolution images. The online publication, based on the 2006 CD-ROM, addiitionally offers an inventory and tools for carrying out searches and viewing the images of the DSS texts.
Brings together approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material, including a strong core of documents from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets is featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. The database is structured into five thematic sections:
- Conduct and Politeness
- Domesticity and the Family
- Consumption and Leisure
- Education and Sensibility
- The Body
DEPATISnet is the database of the German Patent and Trade Mark Office for online searches on patent publications from around the world. It includes the internal DEPATIS electronic document archive of the office (German patent information system).
A dictionary of biographical entries for individuals who have contributed to the history of Canada.
A compilation of Buddhist terms and texts--as well as names of temples, schools, and people--found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. A collaborative dictionary project, thought to be the most comprehensive compilation of Buddhist terms available in English today. Maintained by Charles Muller at the Toyo Gakuen University.
From the nongovernmental National Security Archive, this database consists of curated and indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews that provide insight into significant international issues.
A digital library containing full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries. These works include books, essays, doctrinal works, pamphlets, epistles, and proceedings. Documents can be browsed by title or author. Various search options are also available. Books are shown one page at the time. The text or the digitized original can be viewed.
Contains more than 660,000 Sanborn maps that chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities over a century. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property.
The maps typically include building outline, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and property numbers. Plans often include details on construction materials and building use and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood.
Browse for maps by state, city, date and volume (edition). Once displayed, the maps can be manipulated, expanded, printed, and downloaded.
An online streaming video collection of current, leading British theatre productions, musicals, and operas, including notable works such as the Donmar Shakespeare trilogy
Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
DOAJ provides access to articles from over 14,000 high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subjects. The directory is curated by the community in an effort to maintain quality.
Contains citations & abstracts of all McMaster theses submitted to UMI Dissertation Publishing. Authorized McMaster users can download full-text PDF versions (if available) of dissertations and theses published by McMaster students.
A searcheable database of medical diseases and how testing changes disease probabilities with over a 1,000 diagnostic likelihood ratios.
An international database of citations for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, and related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Includes the corrected and updated contents of all earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (MILLS Library Bookstacks ML 128 .M8D63) and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world. Records include standard bibliographic information as well as publication details and internet availability (if available). Dissertations themselves are not included. Browse by broad topic or search by author or keywords.
A fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th century. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th century: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. Documents are selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, with many documents specifically declassified for inclusion.