Databases

A global listing of over 1 million names representing approximately 900,000 places and geographic features of the modern world. Maintained by the Getty Information Institute. Organized hierarchically from continents at the broadest level, to nations, states, regions and cities at narrower levels. Provides latitude/longitude, vernacular and English names, and source of information. Historical names and notes are provided for most major inhabited places.

Contains epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 28,000 outbreaks, 39,000+ graphs, and 100,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.

The only specialist database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature not readily covered by other databases. Includes journal articles, book chapters, research reports, conference papers, multimedia (e.g., image, audio, video) and more.

Includes coverage of 180 issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present that are key to understanding today’s world including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in Asia Pacific.

Online full-page newspaper archive of The Globe & Mail from May 1844, current 4 years embargoed. Coverage includes all the stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from Canada's national newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era.

The most current issues of The Globe & Mail are available in print and online (plain-text) via Factiva and other databases.

Globe on Screen 1&2, available from Drama Online, includes a selection of critically acclaimed performances at Shakespeare’s Globe, founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker. Dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare’s work and the theatre for which he wrote, Globe on Screen video collection contains 30 stunning stage productions representing over 75 hours of content. Recorded live on the Globe stage in high definition and surround sound, the videos feature performances from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier award-winning role as Falstaff in Henry IV.

The Gnomon Bibliographic Database (GBD) contains bibliographic data on the journal articles, monographs, book chapters, conference papers and other materials appearing in Gnomon, the German review journal covering classical antiquity. One of GBD's main features is its thesaurus of names, places, themes, and other terms associated with the ancient world. This thesaurus is organized hierarchically, with major entries for philosophy, epigraphy, topography, history, and more. Available in German or English.

Also available as a supplement to GBD is Gnomon Online - The Eichstätt Information System for Classical Studies. Available in German, French or English.

Google Books is a partnership project between Google and major libraries such as Harvard University Library, Stanford University Library, the New York Public Library, Princeton University Library, and Oxford University Library, as well as some commercial publishers. It allows you to search the content of hundreds of thousands of books and view the full text of books that are out of copyright and in the public domain, and portions of text from books that are still copyrighted. If a book publisher is directly involved, the publisher determines which portions (table of contents, index, sample chapters) are included and how much can be viewed.

Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. Includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. To get links to full-text from your Google Scholar results (especially when off-campus), use the Google Scholar - with MacID login link or set up Library links in Google Scholar.

Search Google Scholar directly in the search box below, to avoid reCAPTCHA or Invalid Domain errors:

The U.S. GPO (Government Printing Office) Monthly Catalog of Publications consists of references to 507,000+ publications that deal with all subjects of interest to the U.S. government. Covers all types of U.S. government publications, including: Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records.

The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects. The digital archive makes available a wealth of editorial content and photography, providing essential insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.

Originally published as Istoriia Velikoi Otechestvennoi Voiny Sovetskogo Soiuza (История Великой Отечественной войны Советского Союза) 1941-1945, published in Moscow in 1960 in six volumes by the USSR Ministry of Defense. This work was translated by the U.S. Army Center of Military History and the Foreign Technology Division, Air Force Systems Command. The complete official Soviet history of World War II, a monumental work of over 9,000 pages, this collection provides Western scholars with an opportunity to study what is considered one of the most significant historical documents produced in the Soviet Union. In addition to its importance in the war's historiography, this work is a valuable exposition of the development of a widely influential military doctrine.

A free research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 600 titles, and fulltext for more than 4,700 items from open access sources.

Grove Art Online contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study. There are ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.

Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister newspaper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.

The most current issues of The Gluardian are available online (plain-text) via  Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases 

The most current issues of The Observer are available online (plain-text) via  Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases

Provides access to information and resources related to Black history in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.

• historical period (e.g., Enslavement and Early Black Settlement, Post-Emancipation)
• topic (e.g., Community Organizing & Activism, Health & Medicine, Incidents of Anti-Blackness, Law & Politics)
• and media type (e.g., books, articles, videos)

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of The Hamilton Spectator from 1852 to 2010. 

The most current issues of the The Hamilton Spectator are available in print and online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni. 

Includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition). The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. The magazine covers over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, society, and popular culture, facilitating academic research in wide-ranging fields such as women’s studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, material culture, design, and more. It chronicles of some of the most influential work from world-renowned designers, models, photographers,stylists, and illustrators of the period.

As HathiTrust members, McMaster students, faculty and staff have access to a digital repository that includes millions of items from research libraries around the world. The collection includes both in-copyright materials and public domain materials. Full-text material primarily consists of books and other items published before 1923. This includes a large collection of U.S. government documents and a growing collection of Canadian government publications. New material is added daily. 

Includes the backfiles of the following nine major US and UK consumer magazines devoted to health, fitness, exercise, nutrition, and medicine, charting trends in these areas from the mid-20th century to the 21st.

• Flex [US] (1983 to 2015)
• Men’s Fitness [US] (1985 to 2015)
• Men’s Fitness [UK] (1999 to 2015)
• Men’s Health [US] (1986 to 2015)
• Prevention [US] (1950 to 2015)
• Women’s Health [US](2005 to 2015)
• Women’s Health Activist [US] (1975 to 2015)
• Women’s Health Weekly [US] (1994 to 2015)
• Zest [UK] (1994 to 2014)

Coverage is from issue 1 through to 2015 (or publication ceased date), with issues scanned from cover to cover, although there will be some small coverage gaps (issues / pages).

Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Designed to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.

A repository of synthesized research evidence related to governance, financial and delivery arrangements in health systems and to implementation strategies that can support change within health systems. Contains details about policy briefs, overviews of systematic reviews, systematic reviews, and protocols of systematic reviews relevant to health systems, as well as links to any user-friendly summaries, scientific abstracts and full-text reports that are currently available for these syntheses.

HealthSTAR contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.

HeinOnline: Government, Politics and Law for Canada is a fully-searchable, image-based government document and legal research database with a focus on the Canadian context.

Contains a rich source of original, professionally produced multimedia talks, case studies and interviews, and 20 peer-reviewed, vocational journals. The Collection enables faculty and students to quickly and easily access and incorporate high quality academic and professional insights by many world renowned authorities, to complement and enrich teaching and learning.

Heritage is a growing collection of digitized Canadian primary source documents, chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s.  Featured collections include:

Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2,300 academic historical journals from every major country, and selective coverage of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of interest to researchers and students of history.

Includes primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on some of the most widely studied topics in American history.