Gender Studies & Feminist Research

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Black Women in America
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) E 185.86 .B542 2005
Also available online

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1190 .E63 2000

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1115 .E43 2001

Encyclopedia of women and world religion
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) BL 458 .E53 1999

Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1170 .E53 2003

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
MILLS Referece HQ 1400 - HQ 1788

International encyclopedia of women's suffrage
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JF 851 .H28 2000

International encyclopedia of women and sports
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GV 709 .I58 2001

Reader's Guide to Women's Studies
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZHQ 1180 .R42 1998

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: global women's issues and knowledge
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1115 .R69 2000

Statistical Record of Women Worldwide
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1150 .S73 1995

The women's movement today: an encyclopedia of third-wave feminism
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1115 .W644 2006

Women's Studies Encyclopedia
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1115 .W645 1999

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for Women's Studies include:

 
New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Your Topic

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
http://libr.org/wss/WSSLinks/index.html
Women's Studies Section, Association of College and Research Libraries
Provides access to a wide ranger of resources in support of Women's Studies.

Women's History / International Institute of Social History
http://www.iisg.nl/~womhist/index.php
Links to resources provided by the institute, including ViVa, a database describing more than 8000 articles about women's history published from 1975 to the present.

WWW Virtual Library: Women's History
http://www.iisg.nl/w3vlwomenshistory/
Lists women's history institutions and organizations, locates archival and library collections, and provides links to Internet resources on women's history. Includes a list of women's studies journals and a few comprehensive link collections useful as a starting point for searching the Internet for women's studies in general.

Women Writers Project
http://www.wwp.brown.edu/
The Brown University Women Writers Project is a long-term research project devoted to early mode women's writing and electronic text encoding. Their goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader. They support research on women's writing, text encoding, and the role of electronic texts in teaching and scholarship.

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

National Council of Women in Canada
http://www.ncwc.ca/councilsNational.html

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Aboriginal Women in Canada: Strategic Research Directions for Policy Development
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) CA1 SWC - 98A18

Canadian Social Trends
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) CAI BS11 - C008
Also available online

Royal Commission on the Status of Women
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) CA1 Z1 - 67...

Women and Health: Mainstreaming the Gender Perspective into the Health Sector
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) UN2 C5 - 99W53