McMaster University
spacer
Libraries

Search
Explore


Turabian Style Guide (as based on Chicago)

This guide is based on the 7th edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations (MILLS Quick Reference 2nd floor LB 2369.T8 2007) and The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed. (MILLS Quick Reference 2nd floor Z 253.C53 2003). Printer Friendly
  • There are two formats in Turabian: notes with bibliography (the format shown here and used for humanities and social sciences), and the parenthetical citations with reference list, used predominantly by natural and social sciences. For information on this second format, please consult the book.

Struggling with citations?

RefWorks Login page

  • Try RefWorks, a tool that will help you create your Works Cited page in any style you want (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)! Watch for RefWorks orientation sessions @your library®

RefWorks Login
RefWorks Tutorial

Citing sources in the text

  • the footnote is a statement which acknowledges the authority for references used in your paper
  • a footnote number (in superscript) should follow the quotation or reference
  • the appropriate footnote(s) should be positioned at the BOTTOM of the page on which the reference occurs and should indicate the particular page/pages to which you are referring, but not the page numbers for an entire article or book chapter unless you are citing the entire article/chapter
    e.g.,
    This argument was presented and discussed at length by Overy.¹
    [at bottom of the page, separated by a horizontal line from the text of your paper, insert the following]

    1. Richard Overy, War and Economy in the Third Reich. (New York: Oxford University Press, 1994), 38.
    2. Ibid., 45.
    N.B.: The number is NOT in superscript in the footnote; if you are immediately referring to the same text without having a different reference in between, you may insert the word “Ibid.” and a page number instead of repeating the information twice.

Bibliography

  • appears at the END of a research paper and lists all sources consulted to write the paper including books, articles, personal interviews, etc.
  • arranged alphabetically by author's surname or by title if no author exists
  • second and subsequent lines of each entry should be indented five spaces
  • italicize or underline when necessary but never use both
  • for chapters in books, journal and magazine articles, and entire newspaper articles, indicate the beginning and ending page number.

Examples of footnote (N) and bibliography entries (B)  

Caution: The generic example given for each type of publication (book, article etc.) follows the format for bibliography entries


BOOK

 

2-3 authors

Generic: Author. Title. Place of publication: Publisher, Date. Page (include page only
in note entry).

N1. Richard Overy, War and Economy in the Third Reich. (New York: Oxford University Press,
1994), 38.

B Overy, Richard. War and Economy in the Third Reich. New York: Oxford University Press,
1994.

ESSAY OR ARTICLE IN A BOOK Author. “Title of Article/Essay.” In Title of Book, ed. Editor's Name, Pages. Place of
publication: Publisher, Date.

N 2. Renne Heller, “The Tale of the Universe for Others,” in Between Monsters, Goddesses and Cyborgs, ed. Nina Lykke and Rosi Braidotti (New Jersey: Zed Books, 1996), 75.

B Heller, Renne. “The Tale of the Universe for Others.” In Between Monsters, Goddesses and Cyborgs, edited by Nina Lykke and Rosi Braidotti, 72-87. New Jersey: Zed
Books, 1996.

JOURNAL OR MAGAZINE ARTICLE Author. “Title of Article.” Journal / Magazine Title Vol, issue no. (Date): Pages.

N 3. Eva Topinkova and Daniel Callahan, “Culture, Economics, and Alzheimer's Disease:
Social Determinants of Resource Allocation,” Journal of Applied Gerontology 18, no.5
(May 1994): 411.

B Topinkova, Eva, and Daniel Callahan. “Culture, Economics, and Alzheimer's Disease: Social Determinants of Resource Allocation.” Journal of Applied Gerontology 18, no.5
(May 1994): 411- 22.

ARTICLE IN AN ONLINE JOURNAL OR MAGAZINE

 

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal / Magazine Vol (Date). URL address
spacer (accessed date).

N 4. Rob Fairmichael, " Northern Ireland Chooses New Possibilities," Peace Magazine 14,
no.7 (July 1998). http://www.peacemagazine.org/archive/v14n4p23.htm (accessed July 15,
2005).

B Fairmichael, Rob. "Northern Ireland Chooses New Possibilities." Peace Magazine
14, no. 7 (July 1998). http://www.peacemagazine.org/archive/v14n4p23.htm (accessed
July 15, 2005).

N.B. : If the DOI is available, use it instead of the URL; e.g. doi: 10.1006/;eth.2000.2694

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

 

 

 

No author

Author. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper . Date, edition.

N 5. William Houston, “Jays Sale to Rogers Expected this Week,” Globe and Mail, 30
spacerAugust 2000, final edition.

B Houston, William. “Jays Sale to Rogers Expected this Week.” Globe and Mail. 30
August 2000, final edition.

N 6. “Police Candidates,” Globe and Mail, 31 August 2000, metro edition.

B “Police Candidates.” Globe and Mail. 31 August 2000, metro edition.

You may also use “Associated Press” as the author if appropriate.

N.B.: Newspapers are generally only cited in the notes, but you may choose to include them in the bibliography if you quote from a particular article extensively, or it makes a strong point in your argument.

ONLINE NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

 

 

 

Author. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper. Date. URL (accessed date).

N 7. Glenn Fleischman, “Revolution on the Radio,” New York Times, July 28, 2005,
spacerhttp://www.nytimes.com (accessed July 31, 2005).

B Fleischman, Glenn. “Revolution on the Radio.” New York Times. July 28, 2005.
http://www.nytimes.com (accessed July 31, 2005).

DOCUMENT FROM AN INTERNET SITE Author. “Title of Document.” Title or Owner of Site. URL address (accessed date).

N 8. Mary Rubio, “Montgomery, Lucy Maude,” The Canadian Encyclopedia,
spacerhttp://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com (accessed July 13, 2005).

B Rubio, Mary. “Montgomery, Lucy Maude.” The Canadian Encyclopedia.
http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com (accessed July 13, 2005).

CUSTOM COURSEWARE (Citing the article as part of the course pack) Author, A.A. Title of essay/article/chapter. In Title of book, ed. Compiler's Name, pages.
Place of publication: Publisher, Date.

N 9. Sarah Ford, Lesley Fallowfield and Shon Lewis, “Doctor-patient interactions in
spaceroncology,” in Health Studies 4CO3, ed. Chris Sinding (Hamilton, ON: McMaster
spacerUniversity, 2007), 75.

B Ford, Sarah, Lesley Fallowfield, and Shon Lewis. “Doctor-patient interactions in
oncology.” In Health Studies 4CO3 edited by Chris Sinding, 74-82. Hamilton,
ON: McMaster University, 2007.

N.B .: Keep in mind; if the course pack that you are using may not be available to your reader, citing from the original source may be more appropriate.

CITING INDIRECT SOURCES

 

 

 

 

The work of an author as it is quoted by a second author is an indirect or secondary source. It is always best if you can find and quote the original text and evaluate the context of the original quote. However, if quoting from the secondary author, cite both works as follows:

N 10. Laurie Jenkins, Conflict and Crisis (New York: Hill and Wong, 1996), 132;
spacerquoted in Ann Li, Studies in Art (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1998), 13.

B Jenkins, Laurie. Conflict and Crisis. New York: Hill and Wong, 1996, 132. Quoted
in Ann Li, Studies in Art, 13. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1998.

LECTURES/PRESENTATIONS

 

 

 

 

Speaker, A. “Title of Lecture.” Type of presentation, sponsorship, place where lecture is
given, Date.

N 11. James Dietrich, Next Generation Video Chat,” (lecture, Bytes and Bites e-learning café
spacersession, MDCL 3118, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, November 22, 2007).

B Dietrich, James. Next Generation Video Chat.” Lecture, Bytes and Bites e-learning café
session, MDCL 3118, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, November 22, 2007.


Contact: library@mcmaster.ca
Last Reviewed: January 17, 2008
URL: