Turabian (Chicago) Style Guide
This guide is based on the 7th edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations (Mills Quick Reference 1st floor LB 2369.T8 2007) and The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed. (available online and in print at Mills Quick Reference 1st floor Z 253.C53 2003).
Note: There are two formats in Turabian: notes with bibliography (the format shown here and used for humanities and social sciences), and the parenthetical citations with reference list, used predominantly by natural and social sciences. For information on this second format, please consult the A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations.
If the type of entry you need is not included here, please consult the resources listed in the "Additional Citation Guides" tab.
- Footnotes/Endnotes
- Short Form Notes
- Preparing References/Works Cited
- Citing Print Sources
- Citing Electronic Sources
- Citing Other Sources
- Additional Citation Guides
Footnotes/Endnotes
Footnotes or Endnotes
- Turabian style, notes with bibliography, is shown here. If you require the other form of Turabian, parenthetical citations with reference list, please consult Kate Turabian’s A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers. 7th ed. 2007 REF LB2369.T8 2007 Mills 1st floor (Research Help Desk)
- Provide footnotes/endnotes, within the text, when quoting or paraphrasing someone else’s work
- Footnotes/endnotes should direct the reader to the entry on the works cited
Example
Quote in-text
Footnote
Short Form Notes
Short Form Notes
- a shortened note is a simplified form of a full note
- if a source does not have an author (or editor) you can use a title-only note
Example of Short Form Note
or
1. Stuart, 421
-
if you cite a work that contains the same bibliographic information that appears in the previous note, you may use the abbreviation "Ibid" in your notes.
Example of “Ibid Note” Using Example Above
2. Ibid, 422.
Preparing References/Works Cited
Preparing the Bibliography
Your bibliography should include all the sources you quoted, paraphrased, or summarized in your assignment. This listing appears at the end of your assignment. When formatting your bibliography follow these standards:
- Arrange sources in alphabetical order by last name of the author, editor or by title if no author exists.
- Double space between entries
- Indent the second and subsequent lines of each entry fives spaces from the left
Avoiding Plagiarism Checklist
|
Citing Print Sources
Print Sources
| Footnotes/Endnotes |
Bibliography |
|
Book |
Book
Ball, Philip. Bright Earth. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2001.
2 or 3 Authors Bird, Kai, and Martin J. Sherwin. American Prometheus. New York: Alfred A. Knopf,
2005.
4 or more authors Hall, Jacquelyn Dowd, James Leloudis, Robert Korstad, Mary Murphy, Lu Ann Jones, and
Christopher B. Daly. Like a Family. Chapel
Hill: University of North Carolina Press,
1987.
Book with an Editor Edited by John Naughton. Chicago:
University of Chicago Press, 1995.
Essay or Chapter in a Book Chasteen, John. “Neocolonialsm,” in Born in Blood and Fire. New York: W.W. Norton
& Company, 2001.
Academic Journal Article Mackay, Christopher S. “Lactantius and the Succession to Diocletian.” Classical
Philology 94, no. 2 (1999): 200-225.
Signed Article Daily Newspaper Kamin, Blair. “Wrigley Building Clearly a Landmark.” Chicago Tribune, July 1 2005.
|
Citing Electronic Sources
Electronic Sources
Note: If the publisher or discipline requires it, or for especially time-sensitive data, record in parentheses the date the material was last retrieved.
| Footnotes/Endnotes | Bibliography |
|
Website Mary Rubio, “Montgomery, Lucy Maud,” The Canadian Encyclopedia,
http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/
index.cfm.
Articles Accessed Electronically
|
Website
Rubio, Mary. “Montgomery, Lucy Maud.” The Canadian Encyclopedia.
http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/
index.cfm.
Articles Accessed Electronically Fairmichael, Rob. “Northern Ireland Chooses New Possibilities.” Peace Magazine 14,
no.7 (1998): 23-24. URL.
Online Newspaper Fleishman, Glenn. “Revolution on the Radio.” New York Times, July 28, 2005. URL
(accessed August 27, 2001).
Blogs and Wikis The Becker-Posner Blog, entry posted
March 6, 2006. URL (accessed March 28,
2006).
|
Citing Other Sources
Other Sources
| Footnotes/Endnotes | Works Cited |
| Lecture John Troutman, “Indian Blues: American Indians and the Politics of Music 1890-1935” (lecture, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, February 2, 2005). Interview Andrew Macmillan, interview by Jane Doe, Toronto, ON, March 5, 2007. Television Program Seinfeld, “The Opposite,” episode 86, September 22, 2005 (originally aired May 19, 1994). |
Lecture
Troutman, John. “Indian Blues: American Indians and the Politics of Music
1890-1935.” Lecture, McMaster
University, Hamilton, ON, February 2,
2005.
Interview Macmillan, Andrew. Interview by Jane Doe. Toronto, ON. March 5, 2007.
Television Program Television Programs are not included in reference lists, only in footnotes. |
Additional Citation Guides
Other Resources
- The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed.
REF Z 253 .C53 Mills: 1st Floor (Research Help Desk )


Comments
note that the Chicago Manual of Style, besides being available as a hardcopy book in the reference section under the call no. given above, is now also available electronically to McMaster users, since the library has purchased a subscription.
Dana Hollander, Associate Professor, Religious Studies
Thanks for the update, I was looking around for this myself.