Business - Top Databases

McMaster users have access to the following databases for research in the area of business. Click on a database name to access the resource. For a list of the top business databases by type of content (e.g., articles, reports, statistics, etc.), please review this guide (PDF). For a more comprehensive list of databases relevant to business research, please consult this listing.

Database NameDescription
*BestCaseContains the full-text of some of Canada's leading law reports including Labour Arbitration Cases and Dominion Law Reports.
* +Business Monitor InternationalProvides country risk, industry and competitive intelligence for 175 countries.
*Business Source CompleteContains citations and full-text of articles from over 11,000 sources, including academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. [Online Tutorial with Audio]
+Canadian Business DatabaseBrief profiles of 1.5 million Canadian companies, including privates. Search by company name, by SIC or NAICS, by geography, etc. [Online Tutorial with Audio]
+CANSIM via CHASS  and Statistics Canada (updated daily)
CANSIM via E-STAT (updated annually)
Time series statistical tables from Statistics Canada, Bank of Canada, CMHC and Labour Canada.
*CBCA Reference & Current EventsArticles from 500 key Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers. Selected full-text.
*Conference Board of Canada e-LibraryFull-text database containing research publications on economic trends, public policy issues and organizational performance.
*CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index)Articles from 400 Canadian newspapers, magazines and journals.
* +DBRS.com (Dominion Bond Rating Service)Credit ratings on issuers of Canadian commercial paper, bonds, long/short term debt, preferred shares and asset-backed securities. Also includes Canadian industry studies and press releases.
*EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)Provides access to economic data and commentary on countries around the world. [Online Tutorial with Audio]
+E-STATContains Canadian census data and current & historical statistics on a wide variety of topics.
*FactivaProvides full-text access to current and archived news and business information from around the world.
*FAITS (Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies)Provides hundreds of industry reports and company profiles related to information technology worldwide.
*IBISWorldContains over 700 U.S. and over 100 global industry reports at the five digit NAICS level. 
+Infomart (FP Advisor)Contains corporate and financial data for Canadian companies.
*InfoSci-BooksCollection of full-text books published by IGI Global. Covers research, trends, technologies, and challenges in the fields of information science, technology and management.
*Knotia: Accounting and AssuranceProvides full-text access to key accounting manuals such as the CICA Handbook and the Interntional Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS).
* +LexisNexis AcademicProvides full-text access and/or indexing to thousands of sources relevant to business research including international newspapers, company directories, and legal materials.[Online Tutorials]
* +MarketResearch.com AcademicContains hundreds of full-text market research reports. U.S. emphasis.
+Mergent OnlineBusiness and financial information on 25,000 companies (U.S., Canada and the world). Also includes country profiles useful for international business research.
+ODESI (Ontario Data Documentation Extraction Service and Infrastructure)Includes data  files from Statistics Canada, Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files and selected files from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
* +OECD iLibraryProvides full-text access to books, reports, working papers, periodicals and statistical data published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
*
+
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers around the world.

*
+

SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)Contains annual reports, financial statements, and press releases from Canadian public companies. [Online Tutorial with Audio]
+
*
Value Line Investment SurveyAn investment advisory service that tracks approximately 1,700 companies in over 90 industries.
oWeb of ScienceIndexes and abstracts articles from over 8,000 international scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas including business. Search by topic, cited works and more.
+WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)WRDS is a Web based interface providing access to recent & historical financial data from CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices), Standard & Poor's COMPUSTAT, Mergent's FISD (Fixed Income Securities Database) I/B/E/S (Institutional Broker's Estimate System), Risk Metrics and other important financial and business data sources.
Databases marked with a:
*contain some full-text
+contain numeric and/or financial data
ocontain citations and/or abstracts only - check McMaster's library catalogue OR click on get it logo (if available) to determine if the Library owns or has access to the source.

Last Reviewed: March 16, 2012