Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology (George Ritzer, ed.)
"A vast library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field. Students, lecturers, and researchers will find this an invaluable learning, teaching, and research resource."
Dictionary of Sociology (John Scott and Gordon Marshall, eds.)
'There is no better single-volume compilation for an up-to-date, readable and authoritative source of definitions, summaries and references in contemporary sociology’, A. H. Halsey, review of previous edition. Compiled by an expert team of sociologists, this dictionary spans an international range of terms, methods, and concepts. Includes biographies of key figures, and entries on topics, and real-life examples of theories in practice. Rev. ed. of: Concise Oxford dictionary of sociology. 1994.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory (George Ritzer, ed.)
Reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. The encyclopedia examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
Encyclopedia of Sociology (Edgar F. Borgatta, ed. in chief ; Rhonda J. V. Montgomery, managing ed.)
Compiled from essays written by subject specialists. Topics were selected by an editorial board. Essays are a few pages in length, and give a broad overview of each topic, complete with references.
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
Written by one sociologist, this is a dictionary of sociology aimed primarily at students. Bibliographic citations are given within the bodies of major entries.
Cultural Theory Glossary
Contains concepts associated with media, communication, literary studies, the sociology of culture, social geography, Marxism, feminism, psychoanalysis and deconstruction as well as cultural Studies. Includes bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory (Austin Harrington, Barbara L. Marshall, Hans-Peter Müller, eds.)
Concise definitions of key terms and short biographies of key theorists; comprehensive surveys of leading concepts, debates, themes and schools. Thorough coverage of the central topics in theoretical sociology as well as terms and concepts in the methodology and philosophy of social science.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict (Lester Kurtz, ed.-in-chief; Jennifer Turpin, assoc. ed.)
Addresses a full range of topics in the field of violence, peace, and conflict studies, with coverage of issues as disparate as peace education, trends in warfare, mental illness, and violence towards animals. It also includes many topics of concern to contemporary society, such as ethnic conflict, hate crimes, drug control policies, and child abuse. Includes a glossary, cross-references, bibliography, and index.