Physics and Astronomy
Reference
Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic.
Best Bets! are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Handbooks / Data Collection
- AIP Physics Desk Reference
- Thode Reference (lower level) QC 61 .P49 2003
- CRC Handbook of Physics and Chemistry
- CRC Handbook of Thermophysical and Thermochemical Data
- Thode Reference (lower level) QC 173.397 .L53 1994
- Digitized Sky Survey (DSS)
- "The Digitized Sky Survey comprises a set of all-sky photographic surveys in E, V, J, R, and N bands conducted with the Palomar and UK Schmidt telescopes."
- Dortmund Data Bank
- "This database can be searched for thermodynamic and thermophysical data." (The actual data has to be requested by e-mail).
- Handbook of Molecular Physics and Quantum Chemistry (3 vols.)
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 173 .H36 2003
- Handbook of Optics, vol. I
- Handbook of Optics, vol. II
- Handbook of Optics, vol. III
- Handbook of Optics, vol. IV
- Handbook of Particle Physics
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 783 .S86 2001
- Handbook of Physical Quantities
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 61 .H36 1997
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology [online access]
- THODE Reference (lower level) Q 199 .N27
- International Tables for Crystallography
- THODE Reference (lower level) QD 908 .I56
- Volume G available online
- Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
- Landolt-Börnstein: Numerical Data and Functional Relationships in Science and Technology
- THODE Reference (lower level) Q 199 .L25A
- NOTE: Electronic access to some volumes only
- Landolt-Börnstein Substance/Property Index
- The Law List
- "This site covers "laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants, experiments & thought-experiments in physics."
- Physical Reference Data
- "This site covers physical constants, atomic properties of the elements, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data, atomic and molecular, x-ray and gamma ray, radiation dosimetry, nuclear physics and condensed matter physics data."
- Phase Equilibra Diagrams Online (Phase Diagrams for Ceramists)
- Physical Properties of Polymers Handbook, 2nd ed. 2007
- Powder Diffraction File (1960-1988)
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 482 .D5P642 (inorganic - microfiche)
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 482 .D5P643 (organic - microfiche)
- SkyView / NASA
"...a Virtual Observatory on the Net generating images of any part of the sky at wavelengths in all regimes from Radio to Gamma-Ray." - Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th rev. edition)
- Online version
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 61 .S66 1964
- Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants and Some Mathematical Functions (15th ed.)
- THODE Bookstacks QC 61 .K3 1986
- Thermophysical Properties of Matter / TPRC Data Series (13 vols.)
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 171 .P83
Encyclopedias / Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Astronomy, 2nd ed. [online - Oxford University Press]
- Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy
- THODE Reference (lower level) QB 14 .D53 2001
- Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 5 .E56
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics (23 vols.)
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 5 .E543 1991
- Encyclopedia of Astronomy, Astrophysics (4 vols.)
- THODE Reference (lower level) QB 14 .E534 2001
- Also available online
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry
- THODE Reference (lower level) Q 123 .E497 2002
- Handbuch der Physik = Encyclopedia of Physics (55 vols.)
- THODE Reference (lower level) Q 5 .H23
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (20 vols.)
- THODE Reference (lower level) Q 121 .M3 2002
Articles/Databases
Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book.
Best Bets! are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Primary Physics / Astronomy Databases
|
|
||
Secondary Physics / Astronomy Databases
|
|||
Websites
The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.
- AstroWeb: Astronomy on the Web
- This site is a gateway to astronomy/astrophysics and physics resources on the internet, such as organizations, observatories and telescopes, bibliographical databases, data resources, computer software, etc.
- Resources in Physics / Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics Division of the Special Libraries Association
- The Virtual Library: Physics
- Links to resources in specific aspects of physics (acoustic, nuclear, plasma, laser physics)
Spectra and Spectral Data
- Absorption Spectra in the Ultraviolet and Visible Region
- THODE Reference (Lower Level) QC 437.L322
- Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra
- THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 96 .I5 P67 1981
- Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data / National Institute of Standards and Technology
- NIST Atomic Spectra Database
- NIST Molecular Spectral Databases / National Institute of Standards and Technology
- The three databases for diatomic, triatomic and hydrocarbon molecules cover microwaves region with limited data for radio frequency region
- Sadtler Standard, Infrared, Prism Spectra
- There are 5 indexes (cumulative up to 1980 and supplements from 1981): Spec-Finder, Alphabetical, Chemical Class, Molecular Formula and Numerical, located at the end of the spectra collection.
- THODE Reference (Lower Level) QC 457 .S3
- SciFinder Web
- Includes spectra for some compounds
Patents
- Canadian Patents Database
- European Patent Office
- Espacenet is the freely available database for patent information
- Japan Patent Office
- PatentRetriever
- US, European and PCT patent applications can be freely downloaded as PDF files
- PatentScope / WIPO
- "This facility allows you to search 1,374,585 international patent applications and to view the latest information and documents to the International Bureau"
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) database
- What Every Chemist Should Know About Patents
- What Every Chemist Should Know About Patents: 2006 Supplement
Citation and Style Guides
These guides give information on the elements required when citing works and on presenting information clearly and succinctly.
Best Bets! are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
- AIP Style Manual, 4th ed.
- THODE Reference (lower level) QC 5.45 .A45 1990
- Craft of Scientific Writing / Michael Ally; 3rd ed.
- Gives advice on writing well and provides examples from various disciplines in science and engineering
- THODE Bookstacks (Lower Level) T 11 .A37 1996
- Elements of Style / William Strunk and E.B. White
- Gives advice on composition and correct usage of grammar
- Also available in print - THODE Bookstacks (Lower Level) PE 1408 .S772
- How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper / Robert A Day; 5th ed.
- 5th edition - available online
- 6th Edition available in print - THODE Reference (Lower Level) T 11. D33 2006
- Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers / the Council of Science Editors
- Also available in print - THODE Reference (Lower Level) T 11 .S386 2006

