Philosophy

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Bibliographies

Bibliography of philosophy in Canada : a research guide
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) ZB 981 .M38

Bibliography of Philosophical Bibliographies
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) ZB 53 .G8

International Philosophical Bibliography
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) ZB 2 .R42

The Philosopher's Dictionary McMaster Use Only
E-book

Philosophy Journals and Serials: an analytical guide
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) ZB 1 .A28

World Philosophy: a contemporary bibliography
MILLS Ref (2nd Floor) ZB 804 .W67

Dictionaries

The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) B 41 .B79 2204

Dictionary of Eighteenth Century British Philosophers
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) B 1301 .D53 1999

Dictionary of Nineteenth Century British Philosophers
MILLS Russell Archives (lower level) B 1561 .D53 2002

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western thought
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) B 41 .R43 1996

Dictionary of Seventeenth Century British Philosophers
MILLS Ref (2nd Floor) B 1131 .D538 2000

Dictionary of the History of Ideas; studies of selected pivotal ideas
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) CB 5 .D52

Dictionary of Twentieth Century British Philosophers
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) B 104 .D52 2005

Dictionary of World Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) and MILLS Ref (2nd floor) B 41 .I26 2001

Historical Dictionary of Feminist Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks (4th floor) HQ 1190 .G36 2006

Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy McMaster Use Only
Online resource

The New Dictionary of Existentialism
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 819 .N28

The Philosopher's Dictionary McMaster Use Only
E-book

Directories

Directory of American Philosophers
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 935 .D5

International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 35 .I5

Who's Who in Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 804 .W52

Encyclopedias

Augustine Through the Ages: an encyclopedia
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 655 .Z69A84 1999

The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy and Philosophers
Online resource (McMaster only)
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) B 41 .C66 1975

Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy McMaster Use Only
Online resource

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 163 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (Wilson)
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 802 .W48 2004

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (Kors)
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) B 802 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 51 .E5
MILLS Russell Library (lower level) B 51 .E5

Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Supplement
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 51 .E5 1996

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks B 51 .O94 2005
E-book McMaster Use Only

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy McMaster Use Only
E-book

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online resource

World Philosophy: essay reviews of 225 major works
MILLS Ref (2nd Floor) B 29 .W68 1982

Histories of Philosophy

Medieval, Renaissance and Enlightenment Women Philosophers.
A.D. 600-1500

MILLS Bookstacks B 105 .W6 M39 1989

Modern Women Philosophers, 1500-1900
MILLS Bookstacks B 105 .W6 M63 1991

Contemporary Women Philosophers, 1900-today
MILLS Bookstacks B 105 .W6C66 1995

The History of Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks B 77 .B723
MILLS Russell Archives (lower level) B 77 .B723

A History of Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks B 72 .C62 2003

A Hundred Years of Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks B 1615 .P3

Recent Philosophers: a supplement to A hundred years of philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks B 1615 .P313 1985

Research Guides

Library Research Guide to Philosophy
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) ZB 72 .L47 1990

Philosophy: A guide to the reference literature
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) ZB 72 .B97 1997

The Philosopher's Guide to Sources, Research tools, Professional life,
and Related Fields

MILLS Ref (2nd floor) ZB 53 .D43

Research Guide to Philosophy
MILLS Bookstacks (6th floor) B 52 .T5 1983

Primary Texts

Primary texts may be the literary works themselves (manuscripts, novels, poems, short stories, diaries, etc.) or first-hand accounts of an event or a person's life or work. These include letters, autobiographies, posters, diaries, archival materials, and photographs. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Type a name in the library catalogue search box under Anywhere and then limit the results to Archives and Research Collections. The option to limit is on the navigation bar on the left side of the screen under Location : selecting Location will display a list of items held in the Archives and Research Collections.

In addition to early printed works prior to 1800, Archives and Research Collections holds a rich diversity of primary texts for the humanities and social sciences such as diaries, letters, posters, photographs, maps, narratives and manuscripts. The authors of these works include Bertrand Russell, Vera Brittan, Boethius . Anthony Burgess, C.K. Ogden, John Garvin, Hans Gadamer , Ralph Strauss, H.G. Wells, Virginia Woolf and many others. For an overview of the Archives and Research Collections' contents click here.

Bertrand Russell Archives

Since 1968, McMaster University has housed the works of Bertrand Russell , a British philosopher, logician, essayist and renowned peace advocate. These works include his correspondence, manuscripts, tapes, films, photographs, personal library, medals and even his writing desk.

C.K. Ogden (Charles Kay)

A philosopher in the early part of the twentieth century, C.K. Ogden was a polymath who was drawn to a lifelong study of languages. He was the founder of Basic English, which was the supposed solution to the problem of international misunderstanding. The Archives and Research Collections contains Ogden's correspondence, manuscripts, diaries, notebooks, articles, publications, photographic and family material as well as many other items related to Ogden's life's work.

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

To find books in the Endeca online catalogue, search by title, journal title, author, subject, call number or anywhere.

To search the catalogue for a specific title, enter the title into the search box and select in Title from the drop down menu.

Acts of Religion

To find books by a particular author/person, search Endeca by in Author

Nicholas Reschner OR Rescher, Nicholas

To find books about a particular person/author or topic, search Endeca by
in Subject

Immanuel Kant OR Kant, Immanuel

Ontology

Some basic subject headings for your topic include:

To find a bibliography on a certain person/author, enter the person/author followed by bibliography as a subdivision heading and search using in Subject

William James - bibliography

To find further subject headings select the title of a relevant source to link to the full record and look at the headings listed under Subjects

If you do not know the correct subject heading for a topic, simply enter in the word(s) that describe the topic and select Anywhere from the drop down menu beside the search box. This will allow the catalogue to search for the word(s) anywhere in the books' records.

Entering Philosophy as a subject heading will produce a long list of results. In order to find resources that complement your topic, it is best to search the catalogue by using the Browse tab. This way, the subject heading Philosophy can be broken down into the various philosophical schools of thought as well as specific time periods. By using the navigation menu on the left side of the screen, the results can be specified further (by subject, geographic location, publication date, etc.).

 

 

New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Your Topic

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

American Philosophical Association
http://www.apa.udel.edu/apa/resources/
A number of web resources listed under eleven subcategories.

The Bertrand Russell Research Centre – McMaster University
http://russell.mcmaster.ca/
This website is comprised of a number of resources relating to one of the greatest thinkers of the twentieth century. It includes a collection of Russell's papers and letters as well as the Bertrand Russell Research Centre's annual newsletters, the digitized version of Russell: the Journal of Bertrand Russell Studies , a discussion list, a Russell encyclopedia in the form of a wiki and other resources.

The Canadian Philosophical Association
http://www.acpcpa.ca/
Under Resources are listed Departments & Programs, Societies & Conferences, Journals, Various, and Your Links. There are also leads to listings for encyclopedias and dictionaries, search engines, databases and archives, texts, other sites, and listservs.

EpistemeLinks.com
http://www.epistemelinks.com/Main/MainPers.aspx
A guide to philosophy resources on the internet.

Ethics Updates
http://ethics.sandiego.edu/
This website provides resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, for professors and students on topics relating to ethics.

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
http://www.earlham.edu/~peters/philinks.htm
A number of links under headings such as guides, journals, mailing lists, philosophers, dictionaries, e-texts, associations and bibliographies. Not updated since 2003 but still a good amount of foundational information.

McMaster Department of Philosophy Homepage
http://www.humanities.mcmaster.ca/~philos/index.html

World Wide Web Subject Catalogue – Philosophy
http://www.uky.edu/Subject/philosophy.html
This website, operated by the University of Kentucky, includes a long list of philosophy resources including Internet references for philosophers, discussion lists, websites, online texts and journals as well as information on conferences.